Shamrock Weekend Race Recap 2016

This weekend was an interesting one and quite frankly, one I’m very relieved that its over!

I did the Dolphin Challenge, in which you do the 8k on Saturday and the half marathon on Sunday. In my last post, I talked about my goals for this weekend being to enjoy the 8k and finish the half injury free.  With my fall a few weeks ago and my kneecap contusion, I didn’t know how my knee would hold up.

Friday/Saturday – Packet Pick-up/Expo

Packet pickup is efficient, as normal. Michael and I went after work on Friday.  I had to wait a bit in the ID line so I could get a drink bracelet. I perused the expo a little bit, but we planned on going back on Saturday for a more detailed look.

Didn’t end up spending much time on Saturday at the expo, and didn’t end up buying anything.

Saturday – Shamrock 8k

Race Day Conditions/Attire

Saturday was to be the better day of the weekend in regards to weather.  It was supposed to be highs in the low 50s.  I decided to wear capris, a short sleeved shirt, with a long sleeved shirt over it.  I dressed a bit warmer since I planned on walking the race.

Pre-Race

I was a little late getting out of the room, so by the time I got down to the meeting place for group pictures (my company sponsors the 8k), I missed the picture.  I got in my corral and got myself ready.  Right at the last second, I ran into our wellness coordinator, Christy.

Race Time

Christy and I took off at a fast walking pace and chatted pretty much the whole way.  The first two miles were a blur.  The weather was great, the sun was out, it was amazing.  Then the wind came.  The wind was gusting and making it hard to make forward progress!

Around mile 3 or so, we ran into a friend from work.  She had back surgery 6 weeks ago and has bronchitis, and was STILL out there rocking it.  Christy and her sweet heart decided to stay back with her and encourage her along.  I wanted to finish.  My husband worries when I don’t finish when I tell him that I will.

The last few miles were windy and cold, but I finished in 1:21:48.  Totally fine by me.  Saturday was all about walking and saving myself for  Sunday.

After Party

The after party was crowded, as expected.  I got my beer, drank about half of it, then was pretty much ready to go.  I normally like to stay at the afterparty, but I wanted to rest up for the following day.  After the party, we went to Pocahontas Pancakes (omg its AMAZING) and got some great food.  I got a huge ham and cheese omelet and some home fries.  Yummy!

untitled.png

Overall Reactions

I was proud of myself for not trying to run, just enjoying a nice 8k walk and taking in the sights! Mission accomplished.

Sunday – Shamrock Half Marathon

Race Day Conditions/Attire

A freakin’ Nor’easter hit the day of the half and full marathon. Rain, wind, cold and torture.  Wind held strong between 16-21 mph with higher gusts.  It was pouring rain and cold at the start.  I opted for capris, my calf compression sleeves, shortsleeves, long sleeves over, and a light rain jacket.  I even wore a hat for the first time! A very nice lady at the hotel gave me a trash bag to wear.  SO GLAD I TOOK THAT.

Pre-Race

I waited until 10 minutes before the race start to go to my corral.  I had to walk up a few blocks from my hotel.  I got poured on the whole time.  I was seriously second guessing my decision.  Made no sense to me to be out doing a half marathon in the middle of a nor’easter! I turned on my music and settled in mentally for a long morning.

Race Time

We took off about 15 minutes after the first corral.

Miles 1-3 were ok. Mostly ran, few walk breaks.  I remembered to take my first chews before the 5k mark.  Fueling win.  I saw my friend Mary for about 10 seconds at a water stop, but she took off and I lost her.

Miles 4-5 were a relief from the wind and rain.  I think the rain stopped around mile 3 or so.  While miles 4-5 were a relief from the elements, I had some serious chafing going on.  I had a moment behind a tree to adjust my clothing that I think might have left the tree scarred for life.  Sorry for the TMI, but that’s how it goes.

Miles 6-9 were awful as expected.  That stretch up in Fort Story is horrible.  The wind kicked up again and was tearing into me.  At mile 6.5, I saw a girl who was down on the ground, passed out*.  She had a few people around her, one cradling her head, the other trying to talk to her. I stopped to find out what happened and if they needed me to call 911.  They said they had already called.  I stopped, said a little prayer for her, and got back on my way.  I was relieved when I saw emergency workers headed her way.

*If anyone knows what happened to her, please let me know!

I had a few moments of near breakdown until we got out of the base.  Even though I was mentally prepared for that part of the race, the weather really got to me.  I’m sure I’m not the only one that felt that way.  I was more mentally present than that part of the race when I did it in 2014.  I don’t even remember parts of that course from last time, that how out of it I was last time!

Miles 10-13.1 were pretty decent.  I walked pretty much the entire time.  The marathoners were starting their second half and I yelled, clapped and gave a thumbs up to as many as I could.  I got a few smiles.  It was nice to take my mind off of things.

Around mile 12, there was a bunch of people with a keg of beer in their front yard, handing out Dixie cups of beer to runners.  Why the heck not? I took one.

I ran in the last quarter mile or so and finished at 3:25:06.  This was my slowest half marathon ever, but guess what, I finished, and I finished healthy (except for an awful blood blister).

After Party

I didn’t even go to the after-party.  I was too cold.  We had a late checkout at the hotel, so I walked back about 7 blocks to the hotel, warmed up and enjoyed my snacks from the finish line.

Overall Reactions

I’m glad I decided to do the race despite the issues with my knee the last few weeks. I’m totally ok with my slow time, I finished the race uninjured, and that is the most important. Over the next few days I’ll be sharing more thoughts about the race and my perspective on it, but I wanted to share the recap with you first!

untitled2

Have you ever done a race in the middle of a nor’easter? What was the toughest race (for any reason) that you’ve done?

 

8 thoughts on “Shamrock Weekend Race Recap 2016

  1. Congratulations on finishing both races injury-free and I’m so glad your knee was fine and you could do them! Those medals look like they were worth it, too.

    Good call to just walk the first one with your coworker and enjoy it to save yourself for Saturday, too. It looks like these were really fun races despite the terrible weather (I have read several race recaps and they all say the same thing about it!). Good thing you had the trash bag and hat and were prepared.

    Stinks you had to miss the after-party, but I would want to go back to the room and stay warm too, so don’t blame ya there. I hope you have a good recovery from the race.

  2. I’ve actually been to Pocahontas and liked it a lot as well. I’m glad you finished both the races injury free as well. I missed a good portion of the after party post half because I was so cold. I’m not sure I’ve ever been that cold and soggy,

  3. Major points for finishing these races! What a brutal weekend. When I ran the shamrock half in 2014, I felt similarly about miles 6-9 and ALSO indulged in a beer stop during the last mile or two 🙂 Great minds think alike. Great job in such rough weather!

  4. Pingback: Thoughts on Shamrock | coolrunningsjourney

  5. Pingback: Race Recap – April Fools 7k 2016 | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a comment