Shamrock this weekend!

Well, its reckoning time! Shamrock is this weekend.  To be honest, I wasn’t terribly pleased with my training up until my fall.  While, the last 3 weeks of super light activity has served as an extremely long taper and a chance for my knee to continue to heal, I wish had an opportunity to keep training.

I’ll be doing the Dolphin Challenge this weekend – the 8k on Saturday and half marathon on Sunday.  I deferred this challenge last year due to my PF issues, otherwise, I wouldn’t normally be attempting it again.  But since I paid for it… 🙂 In all seriousness though, this was planned to be my last half marathon for the foreseeable future.  I’d really like to be able to follow through with it.

My plan for the 8k is just to walk with my friends from work.  Some of the girls here are doing their first race ever – and they are walkers.  It’ll be good not to be tempted to run and to rest up for Sunday.

Sunday is the half and they are calling for terrible weather.  Send positive thoughts toward Virginia Beach and hope that we get limited rain and wind! I know all the other half marathons and full marathoners would greatly appreciate it! I’m excited about the cooler weather (I LOVE cool weather for races), but I could do without the rain.

I’m hoping my knee holds up (I have nothing to indicate it shouldn’t at this point), but if it doesn’t, I am willing to DNF to protect myself from getting injured.  I will be employing a walk/run strategy and am totally ok with being one of the last to finish.  The half is relatively walker friendly with a time limit of 4 hours.  That would be a 18:19 mile.  Even walking most of the time, I should be able to beat that. I seriously don’t have any other hopes other than finishing.

Goals for this weekend:

  • Walk the 8k and have a blast with my work friends
  • Fuel well for the half (I have a bad habit of pretending I don’t need my chews till I crash at miles 7-9)
  • Be mentally strong during the half.  The weather conditions and interrupted training schedule could get to me
  • FINISH safely and uninjured

Would you mind sending positive thoughts my way this weekend? I’d really appreciate it!

Are you racing this weekend? Do you do any St.Patrick’s Day themed races?

5 thoughts on “Shamrock this weekend!

  1. I was actually going to text you and see what your plans were for the race. I’m glad to hear your knee is feeling a bit better though. I think you’ll do well at the full.

  2. Pingback: Shamrock Weekend Race Recap 2016 | coolrunningsjourney

  3. Pingback: Thoughts on Shamrock | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

