Race Recap: ODU Big Blue 5k 2017

untitled12.pngThis was my second time doing the ODU Big Blue 5k. I enjoyed the race last year, J&A always puts on great races, and this was no exception.  The highlight of this game is that you get to finish on the 50 yard line of the football field!

Packet Pickup and Expo

I opted for race day pickup, since I didn’t feel like fighting traffic on Friday night.  It was pretty quick, like most J&A Races, and I found a place to hang out for awhile.  I didn’t feel like taking my stuff back to the car, so I opted to do the dry bag check.

Race Day Conditions/Attire

High in the low 60s and partly cloudy…perfect running weather. I opted for a tank top, capris, and a hat.  I’m becoming more of a fan of running with a hat on.  There was a bit of rain before the race, but the clouds burned off quickly, and it turned out to be a nice day.

Pre Race

I had a lot of time to kill before the race.  It was a late start – 10:30am race.  I watched April the Giraffe give birth on my phone, chatting with some of my race friends, and just relaxed.  About 20 minutes before race start, I headed over to the start area and found my corral.

Race Time

They started the corrals within about 30 seconds of each other.  I had planned to walk most of the race and run if I felt good.  The first mile went by really quickly.  The sun came out in full force and I started feeling the affects.

The second mile was pretty good, and I ran some.  The water stop came at almost the 2 mile mark, which was a little late for a 5k.

The last mile was pretty easy and was a nice run though ODU’s campus.  I ran the last quarter mile in to the finish.  The finish on the 50 yard line of the field is pretty cool!

untitled

I finished in 48:16.  I was ok with the time given that I walked most of the time.

After Party

The after-party was tailgate style, and they had free Moes (yum) and Corona.    I hung out for awhile, ate my food, then got on the road.  Michael was sick and I didn’t want to be gone from him too long.

Have you ever done a football themed race? What was the best food you’ve had at an afterparty?

Leave a Reply

