Race Recap: Shamrock 8k 2017

I know this recap is super late – but better late than never!

This is one of my favorite races, despite the fact that the weather is almost always crummy.  Guess that’s what happens when you have a race in March at the oceanfront.

Packet Pick-up/Expo

My stepmom and I went to packet pick-up on Friday night.  We walked through all the vendors, but didn’t get into a whole lot.  She got a new pair of sunglasses, and I got a new flip belt.  They’ve made a few adjustments and I love it!

Race Day Conditions/Attire

The forecast threatened rain, but it was supposed to be in the high-40s/low 50s.  I wore capris and a short sleeved shirt with a long-sleeved shirt over it.  I brought a poncho just in case it started raining.  I learned my lesson from last year.

Pre-Race

We parked about 15 blocks away from the start and had a decent walk to the start line.  We hit the porta-potties with about 15 minutes to spare.  We got in our corrals and just enjoyed all the costumes and excitement.

Race Time

The first 2 miles went by in the blink of an eye.  I lost my stepmom less than a quarter mile in – even though I know she’d leave me because she’s speedy. We faced a headwind for most of that time.  When the course turned onto the boardwalk, we had the wind at our back.  I took advantage of that and alternated running and walking.

Around the 3.5 mile mark, I started noticing that my sock was rubbing and I was getting a blister.  I tried to adjust, but it didn’t seem to help.

I hunkered down for the last mile or so on the boardwalk back into the headwind. I hoped to finish under and hour and 15 min, but finished very close in 1:15:13.

After Party

untitled1

I gathered all my food and swag after the race and headed to the tent.  I found my Dad and stepmom, grabbed a beer and enjoyed some of my food.  The music is always great – it is just usually SO CROWDED in the tent that we don’t stay long.

When we finally decided to leave, it had started raining.  I put on my poncho, and they had rain jackets, but we still got soaked walking 10 blocks to our car.

Overall Reactions

Despite the rain at the end, this was a good race and I wouldn’t miss it even despite the terrible weather.

Do you continually do a race despite historically bad weather?

4 thoughts on “Race Recap: Shamrock 8k 2017

  1. I did Shamrock HM in 2014, but one of these years i’d like to return for the 8k. I figure even if the weather stinks, it is still less time out in the terrible weather if I pick the 8k instead, right?!?

Leave a Reply

