Weekly Update – 1/16/2016

This was a pretty good week in terms of workouts and life in general.  I’m really glad to be getting back to the gym. Now that I’ve started easing back in, I need to start kicking up the intensity….soon.

Monday

We had Monday off for MLK day.  We had two house showings in the morning, so we decided to get out of the house and go to the gym, then get breakfast.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t like staying in my gym clothes a long time.  I got two miles in on the treadmill, then hit the showers.  We went to Starbucks for a coffee, then went to the Egg Bistro for brunch.  We had to wait a 1/2 hour, but it was totally worth it for the ham, cheddar and broccoli omelet.

We came home and made some crock pot chicken and dumplings and watched HGTV.  We are officially old people. I finished up all the laundry I couldn’t get done earlier because we had to keep the house immaculate.

Tuesday

On Tuesday, I wanted to work out, but really wasn’t feeling leaving the house to go to the gym.  That’s when our treadmill really comes in handy! Did a quick 2 miles on the treadmill.

Wednesday

Yoga was great.  We did a LOT of stretching.  I can’t decided if my hammys are happy with me or furious with me.

Thursday

Thursday was a planned rest day…and thank God, because I needed it.  We had a vendor onsite for a demo ALL DAY and its mentally exhausting.  I came home and napped (which I rarely do). Michael and I had our “date night” which is a night with no TV, computers, phones, etc. We spent a lot of time talking about life. Sounds cheesy, but its true.

Friday

Friday was a nasty dreary day, but I signed up for my first race of 2017! I’ll be doing the Game Day 5k again this year.

We went out and had some yummy Mexican food on Friday night after work.

Saturday

On Saturday, I slept in like a champ, then we took our time getting to the gym.  I did 2 miles on the treadmill, then we came back to the house to get ready for the day. We did some furniture shopping, grocery shopping, and food prep.

We watched a great movie called Flash of Genius, about the gentlemen who invented the automatic windshield wipers.  Great movie, wonderful cast.

Sunday

On Sunday we tried a new church, went out to lunch, relaxed for a bit, then went to see the movie “Hidden Figures.”  It was quite honestly one of the best movies I’ve ever seen.  Go see it if you haven’t already!

Have you run or signed up for your first race of 2017 yet? What was the last movie you saw in theaters?

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 1/16/2016

  1. I think the last movie I saw was Secret Life of Pets. It’s been awhile… a friend and I took her little girl to see it. I have heard good things about Hidden Figures though, and am glad you liked it! Like you, I also hate spending time in my gym clothes and will even drag along an extra t-shirt for the ride home sometimes, especially after group runs and races because it’s usually a 20-30 min. drive for me and I want to be comfy.

    My favorite date nights just involve watching TV with my husband. We are simple people. Take out makes it even better :).

    • I haven’t seen that movie, but it always looked cute! Hidden Figures was fantastic and I highly recommend it. Also, glad I’m not the only one who hates being in gym clothes forever. I don’t mind it if I’m dry, but when I get sweaty…ew!

      Sounds like you and your husband are a lot like me and mine! We love Netflix and some Chinese take out 🙂

Leave a Reply

