Race Recap: Norfolk Harbor 5K 2016

This is only the 3rd year they’ve held the Norfolk Harbor race series in downtown Norfolk (formerly called Harbor Lights).  I did the half marathon 2 years ago, and the 5k last year.

untitled2

Packet Pick-up/Expo

I opted for race-day pickup.  It was quick and efficient.  The shirts fit much better than the Wicked shirts from a few weeks ago!

Race Day Conditions/Attire

It was about 40 degrees at the start.  It was going to warm up to 70 during the day, but I knew that the wind would make me want long sleeves.

I opted for capris, a tank top, long sleeved shirt over, and my go-to hat.

Pre-Race

Since I did race day pickup, I just stayed at the building until about 20 minutes before the start when I headed outside.  There was a lot of great people watching.

Race Time

I was in corral 3 of 5, and I positioned myself toward the back, because I knew I planned to mostly walk with a little bit of running mixed in.  We got off fairly quickly.  The first half was pretty uneventful, a little walking and running all mixed together.  I saw a runner fall on one of the areas with cobblestones.  She did a somersault! There was a volunteer right there that scooped her up and helped her out.  She seemed ok, probably just a little embarrassed.

Michael went to a Starbucks to sit while I ran.  I actually saw him sitting in there and I waved at him as a ran by!

untitled1

The second half seemed to go pretty slow.  I thought I knew where we were in the city, but with all the turns, I was a bit turned around.  I saw where we were at mile 2 and couldn’t believe we had a whole mile to go.

I finished in 47:12 at 3:07 miles.  I guess I ran the tangents really well?

After Party

It was a beautiful day for an after party.  I got my beer and snacks and walked around a bit with Michael. We had some plans for the day, so we didn’t stay long, but it was a nice time.

Overall Reactions

Great weather for this race! I really enjoyed it! This is one of my favorites, and its part two of the Triple Jog challenge (Wicked was the first, and Surf N Santa is the last).

Have you every run a race that had cobblestones on the course? Do you think the course I ran was short, or is it possible that I just ran the tangents REALLY well? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

