Race Recap: Wicked 10k 2016

Sorry for the late posting!  The Wicked 10k is always a great time! Who doesn’t love a Halloween race?! I love J&A races and I love running out at the VA Beach Oceanfront. Its a familiar place to run for me.

Packet Pick-up/Expo

I opted for race day pickup because I’m lazy.  Pickup was pretty efficient, but the shirts were a disappointment.  I ordered the same size I normally do, and it was way too small.  Guess I won’t be wearing it!

Race Day Conditions/Attire

The race started at about 40 degrees, warming up to 50 degrees within a few hours.  I opted for a short sleeved shirt under a long sleeved shirt, and capris.  I wore a hat, because I’m in love with wearing them for races now.  No costume this year because I was lazy!

Pre-Race

I hung out in the convention center post packet pickup and just relaxed.  I headed out about 20 minutes before the race start so I could get in my corral and look at all the costumes!

Race Time

I had planned on walking this race because I haven’t really been doing really ANY working out, let alone training for a race.

The first half of the race went pretty quickly, and I was able to stick to about 14 minute miles walking, which I was pretty proud of.  I really enjoyed getting to see all of the costumes on parts of the course that wrapped back around itself.

The last half of the race was a little rough. I was ready to be done.  I am not really a fan of the 10k distance at all.  I started getting a blister on my heel (sock seam in a bad place) and I slowed down considerably.

I wanted to finish on or around 1:40, so I ran a little bit during the last half mile.  I finished in 1:40:18.

After Party

To be honest, I didn’t even attend the after party. Michael and I had plans later in the day and we wanted to get out of there.  After it being so difficult to get beer afterward last year, I didn’t really mind skipping it!

Overall Reactions

Great weather and a great day.  I wish I had trained for it and run it, but I still had a ton of fun walking!

Did anyone run a Halloween run? How was it? Have you ever dressed up for a race?

6 thoughts on “Race Recap: Wicked 10k 2016

  1. I ran a Halloween themed half marathon and had a lot of fun with it! I didn’t dress up because a half marathon is a little too far for me to run in costume (I have dressed up for 5Ks before and my friend dressed up for the 5K with this half). It sounds like you had fun at the Wicked race but stinks that the shirt doesn’t fit. I hate when sizes are inconsistent or they go to a new model of shirt from year to year so you don’t know what to get.

  2. I would have chosen the race day pickup too. There is no point to drive all the way out there. Sorry the shirts were off on their sizing, that is disappointing. I actually ran a PR in a prom dress and I like to run in costume. :O

  3. I do like to pick up before a race if its a goal race of mine…helps me to be less stressed. But I’m a huge fan of race day pickup if I can do it. You have run well in costume before!! I think costumes can be fun, I’m just usually far too lazy to plan for one…

Leave a Reply

