Race Recap: Crawlin Crab 5k 2016

This J&A Race is a favorite of mine.  Its only 20 minutes away from where we live and its super organized.  It usually kicks off my fall race season, and this year was no exception. Michael was upset that he didn’t sign up for the race, and was really regretting it. Maybe next year!

untitled1

Packet Pickup and Expo

I opted for race day pickup.  We got there about 15 minutes before they opened the doors.  They were very quick.  The expo was tiny, and we didn’t stay long.

Race Day Conditions/Attire

It was going to be in the low 80s with a slight chance of rain.  I opted for a tank top, capri pants, and a hat.  Hats are slowly becoming my new favorite item to wear on race day!

Pre Race

After picking up my packet, I hung around inside until about 20 minutes before race start.  Michael walked down to the Dunkin Donuts to get some coffee.

Race Time

I was in corral 3 out of 4, and I positioned myself near the back of the corral.  I knew I planned on walking most of the race, so I didn’t think it was fair to be up front. They kicked off Team Hoyt a few minutes before the race start, and before I knew it, Corral 3 was out!

I decided I’d run the first quarter mile, see how I felt, then walk.  I saw Michael in his return trip from Dunkin.  I started walking after I hit the quarter mile mark.  The leaders were already doubling back by the time I hit the .75 mark.  Hit the first mile and felt good.

It started sprinkling around the 1.5 mile mark.  I was grateful for the cooling affect, but really didn’t feel like getting soaked.  I saw my friend Becca on the other side (it was mostly an out and back course.  I ran across for a hug and started running a bit again.

I was relieved when had less than a mile left….until it started POURING.  I’m not exaggerating, it was a TORRENTIAL downpour.  At that point, you just have to succumb to it, but I started running again because I’m not stupid and don’t want to be in it forever.

Thankfully it stopped raining after a quarter mile or so.  I walked some more, but then ran into the finish.  I finished in 48:26.

After Party

The after party was outside, and boy was it muddy.  I stayed long enough to get some yummy tomato soup from Baker’s Crust and a beer.  I don’t know why I was smiling this big after being that soaked, but it must have been the soup making me happy 🙂

untitled

I’m not happy with where my fitness is at, but I’m happy to be getting back into racing season – it will certainly be a great motivator!

7 thoughts on “Race Recap: Crawlin Crab 5k 2016

Leave a Reply

