Weekly Update – 4/18/16

This week was a pretty decent one! It helped that it was my birthday week.  I got a few good workouts in, got to hang out with Jerry Frostick, see Tori Kelly in concert, and celebrate my birthday with my loved ones!

Monday

On Monday I got a quick .75 miles in on the treadmill before yoga.  Class was good.  Kneeling is still a bit uncomfortable since my fall almost 2 months ago, but its getting better.

Tuesday

On Tuesday we had a celebration at work for all the Shamrock race attendees.  My work sponsors the 8k, so its pretty big deal! We had over 70 people from my work compete in Shamrock.  I was one of 7 Dolphin Challengers, and we even had one marathoner.

J&A Racing even sent two representatives to join our celebration.  Jerry Frostick (the J in J&A) came, and one of their employees, Kate.  Kate previously worked with our company.  It was great to talk to them and hear a bit about their thoughts on the race.  Jerry mentioned that he can’t promise the weather would be great next year, but he can’t imagine it being worse!  He called us all bad-asses 🙂

Wednesday

On Wednesday, I got in .75 miles before yoga.  Class was nice and I felt strong.

Thursday

Thursday was my birthday! 29 years old – only one more year till I’m 30!  My husband organized a lunch for me with all my work friends, which was really sweet of him.

Since it was so nice out on Thursday, Michael and I decided to walk outside.  We went to my mom’s neighborhood since its a nice big loop.  Plus we wanted to stop by and see my mom.  We did two loops which my fitbit said was around 1.6 miles, but I think its actually closer to two miles.  I think my mom drove around the loop once and said it was just shy of a mile.

Friday

Friday was my birthday treat from Michael.  He got me tickets to see Tori Kelly at the Norva!!!!

The opening act was a group called Thirdstory; they are known for their 3 part harmonies.  I enjoyed their performance, but I don’t know if I’m a huge fan. I think their songs would all start to sound the same after awhile.

untitled2

Thirdstory

Tori was amazing as expected! What I didn’t expect was to go deaf from all the teenage girls screaming in my ear.  WOW.  She is incredibly talented, and you can tell she loves what she does.  When she finished the show, she appeared to be genuinely overcome with emotion from the applause she was getting.

Saturday

On Saturday we celebrated my birthday with my dad and stepmom.  We went out to a cool place called The Broken Egg.  I got blackened chicken, broccoli and baby baked potatoes.  I didn’t know baby baked potatoes were a thing, but they were good!  They gave me a brownie sundae and sang to me for my birthday!

After we got back from our early dinner, Michael and I went for a walk to see if we could burn off some of those calories from dinner.  We got about 1.75 miles in before the allergy attack set in and we decided to finish our walk!

Sunday

We had church responsibilities on Sunday morning. After church, Michael left to go on a gambling trip (don’t worry, he always gambles responsibly).  I went shopping!  I did not shop responsibly!  After shopping, I had to tackle the lawn in style.  Allergy season is in full swing, so I tried wearing a mask to see if it helped.  It only helped moderately.

untitled5

After that, I pretty much spent the rest of the night vegging out.  It was a nice end to a good week.

How was your week? Are the allergies kicking your butt?

5 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 4/18/16

  1. That’s so neat your job sponsors races and honored the runners and even invited people from J&A racing to come. It has to be neat to work at such a fitness focused place. Glad you got some good workouts in as well as having fun at the concert, looks like an exciting week!

    • Yes – my work is awesome. We sponsor or volunteer for a lot of local races. We often have different fitness challenges. I’ve already beaten the challenge issued in January of completing 5 races in a years time (I’m an overachiever, what can I say). They host a Weight Watchers club here as well. I wish I could get them on board with standing desks!

Leave a Reply

