Weekly Update – 4/4/16

Monday

Monday was a day off of work and a travel day back from Atlantic City.  Nothing too crazy, but we did stop for a yummy lunch at a cool place called Blacksmith Bar and Restaurant.  They are a farm to table type restaurant.  Totally unexpected up on the Eastern Shore in the middle of nowhere!

untitled10

Yummy locally sourced salad!

 

We also stopped at Island Creamery because ice cream.  I didn’t take a picture of my ice cream, but I’ll recycle an old picture because I get the same thing every time!

untitled

Tuesday

Work kicked my butt. I didn’t work out, and I don’t feel bad about it.

Wednesday

Went for a normal checkup at the doctor and my blood pressure was high (its normally on the lower side of normal).  Does anyone else get high blood pressure at the doctor’s office? I hate going to the doctor and it sends my stress levels through the roof!

Made it back to yoga on Wednesday and class was great.  My knee is able to tolerate a lot more pressure on it, so I don’t have to modify poses as much.  Its been a month since my fall at work, so I’m relieved its finally feeling much better.

Thursday

I had to work late on Thursday.  Stopped by my mom’s house on the way home and had her check my blood pressure.  It still high.  This is a clear sign to me that I need to find a way to reduce my stress and do all the other things I should be doing to take care of myself.  My lack of consistency in working out and eating right has certainly started taking more of a toll.  How can I be this stressed after a vacation!?

Friday

Friday was a surprisingly relaxed day at work.  We went out to dinner with my dad and stepmom.  I resisted the urge to get all the bad things, and got one of the healthier options on the menu.

Saturday

On Saturday I got up and got in 3 miles on the treadmill.  I showered, enjoyed an iced coffee, and vegged out for awhile.  I had some Jersey Mike’s for lunch, then went to get my bridesmaid’s dress altered (for my brother’s wedding).

I spent the rest of the day being a complete bum and watching Jurassic Park on TV.

Sunday

Had church responsibilities in the morning.  Afterward, we had tickets to the Norfolk Tides baseball game (minor league team).  We got them from work…didn’t realize how nice the suite was!

untitled

We stayed until the 8th inning, then got on the road.  I wasn’t feeling well. We spend the rest of the night vegging out.

How was your week? Do you like baseball?

7 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 4/4/16

  1. That ice cream looks so good… tomorrow is free cone day at B&J and I am thinking about going, haha. It sounds like you had a fun weekend with the baseball game too, looks like the suite was a nice hookup!

    I hope you figure out the blood pressure issue. I’ve had high blood pressure at the doc too if I was just stressed out. We have Higgi machines in stores here where you can track/monitor it and maybe something like that would be good so you can see the trend over weeks or months?

    • Free ice cream is the best! My husband has a blood pressure machine that I’ve been using. It seemed to be better over the weekend, which is a sign to me that it is mostly stress. I’ve also tried to reduce my caffeine intake too, so that probably has helped a bit as well. I don’t talk about work a lot on my blog, but it is a very stressful time (going through a merger).

      • I don’t talk about work a whole lot on my blog either but definitely understand- the stress of jobs and ebb of flow of work really do affect your health. My first job out of college was so stressful that I was getting colds and sick almost every month (that was also the only time I’ve EVER had the flu). Take care of yourself and hope things calm down soon!

  2. It’s funny because I’ve been to the Island Creamery and I love it. It’s one of my favorite ice cream places ever. I’m shocked the Eastern Shore had that sort of Farm to table type of place too but it looks good.

    • I love Island Creamery. We have family that lives on the island, so its a good excuse to see them and get some ice cream! I was surprised by the farm to table restaurant…seems like a place more fitting as a niche place in a city. It was very hipster lol 🙂

Leave a Reply

