Race Recap: Freezerburn 5k 2016

This was my first race with a new race series and my first race at Mt. Trashmore.  The race was put on by Road Rage Events and I loved it!  I also really enjoyed a new race course.

Packet Pickup and Expo

Since it was such a small race (several hundred people), I opted for packet pickup on the day of the race.  Packet pickup was pretty well organized and I was able to get my packet pretty quickly.  Michael and I had a lot of time to chill in the car and wait for the race to start.

Race Day Conditions/Attire

It was supposed to warm up to the 50s later in the day, but it was in the 20s when I woke up.  It was going to be nice and sunny, but since I’ve never run at Mt. Trashmore, I didn’t know how the wind would be.  I opted for long leggings, a tank top, long sleeved shirt, gloves and headband.

I ended up not wearing the gloves, but did wear the headband the whole time, which surprised me.

Pre-Race

After packet pickup, Michael and I sat around in the car.  It was a little too cold to just hang around outside.

I went out about 20 minutes before the race to hit the bathroom and see if I could find my friend Kim.  I was able to find her and hang out with her.  Since I’d been feeling under the weather, I planned to mostly walk this race, which made her happy cause then I’d stick with her.  We were also joined by another friend of hers (who’s name escapes me!) and her 2 kids.

We placed ourselves toward the back (there were no corrals) and we seemed to place ourselves appropriately.

Race Time

We walked almost the entire race. That was probably a good thing, because it was cold out and difficult for me to breathe, even when walking.  We chatted pretty much the entire race, which was really nice.  I don’t typically enjoy running or walking with other people, but it was really nice.  Helped pass the time.  Before I knew it, we were at the turnaround point for a water break.  The back half of the race flew by.  I knew I’d get under 50 minutes if I ran in the last little bit, so I jogged in the last quarter mile or so.  I finished in 49:38.

This was clearly not a race for me.  I barely ran.  Sometimes I think it is totally ok to just do a 5k for fun and walk if you want!

The course was really nice.  A good portion of it is spent around a man-made lake, and of course, you can see Mt. Trashmore pretty much the entire time.  The race course wasn’t closed off, so sometimes you saw people just out for a walk in the morning with their pets.  I’m not normally a fan of open race courses, but it wasn’t bad. Maybe because I was doing this race for fun.

After Party

Since this was a very small race, I didn’t expect a large after party.  They had a table with water, powerade and some pretzels and granola.  Despite the lack of a fancy after party, people hung around for quite a bit.

The medal was great – they do a summer race with the Heat Miser on the medal!

fb5k3

Do you enjoy trying new race series? Do you enjoy small races?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Race Recap: Freezerburn 5k 2016

  1. I’m glad you had a good time and I’m sure it was a much different experience than J&A. I do like doing lots of different races from various organizations. I feel like I get to see how many different little communities interact. Smaller races are also less overwhelming in my opinion.

    • I’m actually a huge fan of small races – there is something really fun about them. I tend to gravitate toward larger races because I’m a sucker for great swag and a great after party 🙂

Leave a Reply

