New Runner in the Family

No…its not what you think.  I’m not pregnant.

My husband is going to start running and doing races with me!!!!!!

He has been a faithful fan and supporter at all my races.  Even when we first started dating, he came to support me.  I will never forget him being at the finish line of my first half marathon.  It meant so much that he stood for HOURS in the cold to wait for me to finish.

Recently, he’s been in the bad habit of going to find a coffee shop…or donut shop and having a treat while I run a race.  He’s not been happy with his weight or his level of activity, so he wanted to do something to change all that.

So this year, he’s decided to start running with me.  His first race will be a 5k in April – and a J&A race at that! We’ve also signed for an 8k in December.  I’m so incredibly proud of him. We’ve been walking/running on the treadmill at the gym…and he’s been doing quite well.  I think he will be MORE than ready by the time the 5k rolls around.

Do you have any words of encouragement to pass on to him? Do you run with your spouse/significant other?

 

Leave a Reply

