Race Recap – Surf-N-Santa 5 Miler 2015

All I’ve done this year are J&A Races.  I think I have a bit of a problem.  I think anyone that has done one knows how incredibly organized they are!!!

Packet Pickup and Expo

Since the race started at 4:30pm, I opted to do race day pickup.  We arrived at 3pm and I picked up my packet.  I realized that the bib had my maiden name on it, instead of my married name.  I didn’t think it was a big deal so I just let it go.

As Michael and I were sitting around, I realized it did matter! Since I did the Wicked 10k, Harbor Lights 5k, and now Surf-N-Santa 5 miler, I was eligible for the “Triple Jog Dare” which earned me a special medal.  I realized by looking around that those eligible people had a special bib.  So I went back into the expo, explained the situation, and they gave me a special sticker to put on my bib so that I would get my medal at the end.

Crisis averted!

Race Day Conditions/Attire

Although it has been extremely unseasonable warm in VA this fall/early winter, we had a cold snap this weekend.  Highs were only in the 40s, and the temperature was sure to drop as the sun went down.  Also the boardwalk is known for being particularly windy, so I was prepared.

I opted for long leggings, a long sleeved shirt and a vest.  I also wore a headband that covered my ears, but that came off after the first half mile…

untitled5

Pre-Race

After packet pickup, Michael and I hung around and did a lot of people watching.  Lots of good costumes!

I headed to my corral about 15 minutes before the race started.  Then they delayed for 5 minutes.  I think they kicked off all the Team Hoyt participants at 4:30 instead of 5 minutes early.  They seemed to space the corrals out pretty well.

Race Time

My corral started…and then we immediately ran into walkers from the corral before us.  I respect all levels of fitness, but I just want people to be true to their corral! If I know I’m running slower than the corral I’m assigned…I start back a corral.  But I digress.

I ran the first mile, then started alternating run/walk every quarter mile. Mile 1 flew by, and the first water stop and first turn around appeared very quickly.  Miles 2-3 were pretty fast too (with the wind at our backs!), as we were on the boardwalk and taking in all the lights.  I managed to snap a few pictures:

untitleduntitled1

untitled2

Mile 4 was actually a really great mile for me.  I felt fantastic and felt as if I had a ton of energy.  Unfortunately, the turnaround brought on the wind, so I started getting much colder.

Mile 5 was rough as it was the most boring part of the race in terms of scenery, and it was dark, so most of my time was spent concentrating on not tripping.  I knew I was set to be under 1:15:00, so I pushed on and finished strong into the convention center at 1:13:21.

After Party

I was able to get my medal and my Triple Jog Dare medal – which is awesome!!!!

untitled4

untitled3

They gave out beanie hats as a finisher item, which is pretty cool.   I scarfed down my granola bar and my water and headed for the beer.  They had Sam Adams – so I enjoyed a nice winter lager.  They had a potato and sausage soup.  It was good, but after a few bites, I was done with it.

The band was wonderful (as they always are), and I thoroughly enjoyed an inside party. All in all, a good race.

Do you do any Christmas races? Have you ever earned extra medals for doing a race series?

6 thoughts on “Race Recap – Surf-N-Santa 5 Miler 2015

  1. This looks like a really cool race and I love that you can get an extra medal for doing a race series! Race 13.1 does that as well if you do 3, 7, or 13 of their races per year, but I can’t do that many (they’re pretty far from me). The beanie is very cute too- I like getting useful stuff at races as well as fun medals. Glad you had a good time and J&A races delivered on the medals and a great experience.

    • Oh wow – that sounds like a commitment! I will say though, a lot of the races you do have great medals/awards and yummy food! Like you – I do love getting good swag. I’m not really a hat person, so when they give out baseball caps, I don’t really enjoy it. However, I can see getting some use out of a beanie in the winter (if winter ever decides to come…)

  2. I have to admit I miss when they used to do the 10 miler. I loved that race but I think this way has more people that enjoy it. I’m glad you had a good time.

    Are you doing any New Years races? I am coming down to VA to see my parents for NY!

  3. Pingback: 2015 – A Year in Review | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

