Weekly Update – 11/16/15

This week was a pretty good one.  I made it to a few yoga classes and did a night of weights.  I also had a 5k this past weekend, and had a lot of fun life things going on.  Work has still been crazy, but I’m in a much better place emotionally about it.

Monday

Yoga was good.  It was a pretty full class.  I had a breakthrough with my balancing half moon pose.  We usually enter it from a lunge position, which has my hip flexor “bent” and then when I straighten the leg I’m balancing on, my hip flexor hurts when I straighten it (my hip flexors are VERY weak).  But, we had our legs straight when we entered it this time (like your legs are in triangle) and because my hip flexor was already  in the position it was going to be in when I move into balancing half moon, it didn’t hurt! Miracle.

Tuesday

Omg, a normal gym night.  I didn’t do anything too crazy, especially since I really haven’t been hitting the gym very hard recently.  Gotta ease back into it!

Warmup: foam roll, 10 minutes on elliptical

Three Rounds:

  1.  Split kneel overhead press (10 each side)
  2. Dumb bell rows from push up position (10 each side)

Three Rounds:

  1. 1o Goblet squats (20lbs)
  2. 10 TRX back rows

Wednesday

Yoga was good.  It was a pretty small class.  I spent most of the class being extremely mindful of being very accurate in my postures.  I’ve gotten complacent of late, simply going through the motions, and not really focusing on form.  I really enjoyed class.

Thursday

Skipped the gym because it was opening night for the Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 2!!!! I’m a little obsessed. No spoilers here – it was good and I was very happy that it was pretty consistent to the book.

Friday

I’ve hoarded a bunch of my vacation days, so I took the day off to relax and to get some Christmas decorating done.  I did a ton of laundry and felt extremely productive.

After Michael got home from work, we went to get my race packet for Saturday.

Saturday

Saturday was the Harbor Lights 5k.  Recap to come!

After the race we went up to the new Whole Foods.  There was a new Steinmart in the shopping center too, so I had some fun.  I was starving so we stopped for some chickfila.  I was eating it and realized the chickfila sauce didn’t taste right.  I had a bit of a sour stomach after that, so we just had a relaxed night in and watched some Netflix.

Sunday

We had church on Sunday, then headed down to NC to see Michael’s parents.  They built a fire and we were nice and cozy on such a rainy, cold day!

Did you race this weekend? How do you like to spend cold, rainy days?

4 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 11/16/15

  1. It looks like you had a great week and were very active with all the yoga, personal training and the 5K! Glad you got to take a day off work too. I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving :).

Leave a Reply

