Race Recap: Wicked 10k 2015

Sorry for the late posting!  The Wicked 10k is always a great time! Who doesn’t love a Halloween race?! I love J&A races and I love running out at the VA Beach Oceanfront. Its a familiar place to run for me.

IMG_3821

This is one of my favorite parts of the race….Ghostbusters!

Packet Pick-up/Expo

Everything was super efficient at packet pick-up; J&A races are always very well organized.  It was pretty crowded around 6pm when we went.  The shirts this year were FANTASTIC!

Race Day Conditions/Attire

The race started at about 50 degrees, warming up to 60 degrees within a few hours.  I opted for a short sleeved shirt and capris.  I wore my Starbucks barista costume again from last year because I’m lazy.

IMG_3826

Can you tell I’m not a morning person?

Pre-Race

Michael and I went inside the convention center to people watch before the race.  There were a lot of great costumes.  I found a short line for the bathroom and made sure I took care of that…I can usually be ok with a 5k, but I really didn’t want to have to stop on a 10k.

I was in corral 7 of 10.  It took me awhile to get back to my corral.  I plugged my headphones in, put on some hip hop and started stretching and people watching.

Race Time

Our corral started at 8:15 (they gave team Hoyt a big head start).  I really didn’t have a strategy for the race, although I knew I’d end up doing intervals based on how Crawlin Crab went a few weeks ago.

I ran the first mile straight in about 13 minutes.  I decided not to waste too much energy by going out too fast or doing a lot of weaving.  I just patiently followed behind people, knowing the pack would eventually thin out.

For mile 2, I walked a quarter mile, ran a quarter mile.  This seemed to work pretty well for me, so I kept that structure for most of the rest of the race.  I found myself among others also running/walking intervals, and we seemed to keep passing each other.

Once I hit the halfway mark, I found my energy severely draining, then I remembered I had forgotten to eat my granola bar before the start.  I kept with my intervals.

I hit the turn around toward the finish line at about the 5 mile mark.  I decided to only run a quarter mile of the last mile so that I could run in the last .20.  I found a friend from the gym with about a half mile left. She and I finished together, she just barely outkicked me.

I finished in 1:32:31.  I had hoped to be under 1:30:00, but I was ok with the time considering I haven’t been training.

Interestingly, at the Crawlin Crab, I had a 44:37 5k finish. At the halfway mark for this 10k, I was at 44:48.  Pretty consistent, huh?

After Party

So I have mixed feelings about the after party.  It was a nice day, so I liked having the party on the beach, but I really prefer being in the convention center.  We had tomato and cheese soup inside bread bowls from Baker’s Crust, which is always a favorite.

But lets talk about the beer.  The beer lines were ATROCIOUS.  I have never ever had a problem getting beer after a race.  Ever.  I ‘ve had to wait in a little line, but these lines were so bad, I left without getting a beer. I got so pissed. What made me more mad is that a race organizer told us there were no lines at another tent, so we got out of line….then the lines were LONGER at the other tent.

I’m usually a massive fan of J&A races and how they are organized, but they failed the after party at this one.

Overall Reactions

This is a really fun race, and I loved that it was actually on Halloween this year.  The race bling and shirt was fantastic too.

Did anyone run a Halloween run? How was it? Have you ever dressed up for a race?

One thought on “Race Recap: Wicked 10k 2015

  1. Pingback: 2015 – A Year in Review | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

