Weekly Update – 8/17/15

Michael and I did fantastically this week – we were active 5 days this week!  We felt wonderful about how well we did! Hopefully that’ll encourage us to keep it up.

Monday

Yoga! Class was pretty good, but I have these terrible inability to hold a crescent lunge…and that was her favorite thing to do on Monday.  I opted for a kneeling modification, but still struggled with my balance.  Any yogis out there have any tips?!

Tuesday

I used the stick at home pretty extensively, so I didn’t foam roll.  I just jumped on the elliptical for a quick 10 minute warmup.

5 Rounds: 200 meter row, 10 KB Goblet squats

Then I did 5 minutes on the stair -stepper…. holy crap, that’s hard.  New cross training activity?

Wednesday

Yoga was a bit more restorative on Wednesday.  I think she could sense how many newcomers there were to class and made it a bit easier.  As a result I felt like I was one of the more advanced people in the class, which was pretty cool!

Thursday

I foam rolled and stretch awhile, then warmed up with 15 minutes on the elliptical.

5 Rounds:

  1. 1 minutes on the ReACT
  2. 10 TRX Rows

Friday

Friday was a rest day! We had a date night out and saw Vacation Movie.

Saturday

On Saturday, we slept in a little, then got straight to work.  We were having my parents over for dinner so we went grocery shopping, then Michael came back and did all of our normal food prep for the week, as well as prepared everything for dinner.  I got to work on laundry and all of the other cleaning chores.  Our house has not been so clutter free in a long time!

After we got all our work done, we headed to a riverfront neighborhood near us and went for a 2 mile walk.  The weather was great and it was nice to get out of the house.  We came back incredibly exhausted and crashed until my parents got there.  We had a great night and even got to watch my Philadelphia Eagles win their second preseason game!

Sunday

On Sunday, we had church, then we grabbed lunch and ran a few errands.  We stayed up in Newport News because we had a congregational meeting at 4pm.  We spent some time with some friends of ours until then.  The meeting was good, but also left us feeling conflicted about our future at our church.  Not that we don’t love it, its wonderful, but it is pretty far away, and they are talking about purchasing a building even further away. Lots to think about!

How was your week? Are you excited for football season to start up again?

4 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 8/17/15

  1. I’m more than ready for football season and cooler temps. Our high school teams actually started playing Friday night which was fun even if we lost. Glad you got some great workouts in this week!

  2. I’m glad someone else is looking forward to fall. The cooler temps and everything! I’m glad you were able to get some good workouts in this week. I agree about being more active in the fall, I don’t care that much for the humidity.

Leave a Reply

