Fall Races

I have a bunch of fall races coming up. Normally I’d be super excited about that, except I haven’t run since like….April.  I’m still dealing with some plantar fasciitis issues.  I know that the structure and anatomy of my feet is such that I’ll probably continue to be plagued with issues for awhile.  I haven’t been even walking a lot due to the stress and pain it puts on my feet, much less running.

Here’s my fall schedule:

October 3, 2015 – Crawlin Crab 5k (Virginia Beach, VA)

October 31, 2015 – Wicked 10k (Virginia Beach, VA)

November 21, 2015 – Harbor Lights 5k (Virginia Beach, VA)

December 19, 2015 – Surf N Santa 5 Miler (Virginia Beach, VA)

I don’t have anything longer than a 10k.  Quite frankly, I could walk all of these, no problem (until the next day when my feet kill me!) But I’d really like to run them.  My first race just over a month away.  I’m going to focus on going back to yoga, getting my mobility and strength back and finding ways to get conditioning in without killing my feet.

The awesome thing about these races is that they are a ton of fun and I always know a bunch of people doing them.  I’m at a place where I want running to be fun again, so I’m not gonna worry about anything but having fun! Here’s to a stress free fall schedule!

 

What does your fall schedule look like?  What race are you most looking forward to?

5 thoughts on “Fall Races

  1. I think you will be able to do all these races and having fun is the way to go. Don’t put any crazy expectations on them. Even if you do run/walk, you can still complete them and have a great time. I cool down by running down the course after races and the people who are not running the whole thing are having just as much fun and smiling MORE than those at the front of the pack. Plus if they are J&A races it should be fun, based on all the good stuff I have read about those :).

  2. I’m excited for you to have time to train for races again. Isn’t like a nice sign of relief not worrying about wedding things?

    I think I might come back and do RnR but other then that I haven’t made a lot of fall racing plans.

Leave a Reply

