Protein Shakes!

Since we got married, Michael and I have made a commitment to overhaul our eating habits.  That’s not to say that we do it perfectly, but we are making some concerted efforts! One of the ways we’ve been doing this is by way of a meal replacement shake in the mornings.

IMG_3493

This is my current favorite recipe:

1 handful of spinach

3 medium sized broccoli florets

3-4 large strawberries

1/3 cup frozen blueberries

1/3 of a peach (frozen)

1/3 of a banana

3/4 scoop of protein powder

For protein powder, we’ve been using Organic Food Bar Vegan Protein – Chocolate.  This was Michael’s choice.  I have no problem with whey proteins, but he prefers something a bit cleaner and more natural.  I will say that it has a pretty fantastic taste.  If you want to know all the information on it, you can read about it here.

I’m not a huge fan of meal replacements, but this is a great meal replacement for breakfast.  Its nice to know that I’m getting some fruits and veggies in first thing in the morning.

Do you regularly drink protein shakes? What is your favorite recipe?

 

3 thoughts on “Protein Shakes!

  1. I love protein shakes and have one most every morning. I usually do the vegan one but sometimes whey, it just depends- I find that the vegan one holds my hunger a little longer but the whey is good for post workout. I usually do the powder, almond milk, and half of a banana. Sometimes I add some PB2 in there or maybe some greens, and occasionally I’ll use other frozen fruits besides banana. Makes a great breakfast and it’s easy!

Leave a Reply

