Florida, Jewel Concert and the time I creeped on Wanda Sykes

Hey guys! I’ve missed you! I spent the last week in sunny Florida – doing lots of things, but sadly not a lot of getting tan.  But I made up for it by doing a million other ridiculous things!

So, on Monday, I took the day off for my birthday (on Tuesday).  My job is really awesome in that they give us a “birthday” day off. Michael also took the day off and we went to the courthouse to get our marriage license!!! That was a very interesting experience to say the least, but we are super excited to have that crossed off our list!

IMG_3113

We are almost official!

 

On Tuesday, we departed for sunny Orlando!  I had a work conference to attend, and Michael was going to be taking a week and coming with me to have some nice R&R. The flight there was one of the best flights I’ve been on – which is good because Michael HATES flying.  They found out it was my birthday on the plane (thanks to my coworkers) and they sang me happy birthday over the loudspeaker!

When we landed, we took a cab to the hotel and promptly headed to the pool bar for some lunch.  The bartender proceeded to give me shots for my birthday! We got ready for the first night of the Expo and I got to catch up with a lot of my friends from the vendor we deal with.  After the Expo, we went to Maggiano’s for dinner.  They sang to me AGAIN and I had wonderful tiramisu.

IMG_3116

Yum, poolside drinks!

 

IMG_3139

Dessert!!!

 

On Wednesday, I worked all day at the conference.  My group (9 of us total) and Michael and I went out to a cool Cuban tapas place called Cafe Tu Tu Tango. They have local art on the wall for purchase and live entertainment.  Some of the dishes we selected: jalapeno mac n cheese, cajun chicken eggrolls, oriental steak skewers, duck confit salad, southwest chicken flatbread, etc.

On Thursday, we had a few great speakers.  Hamish Taylor – a Scotsman who was hilarious and brillant.  Our keynote speaker was singer/songwriter Jewel.  That woman is sweet, clever, and has come from such an interesting life. After a full afternoon  of my conference, we had a fun night at Universal!  They rent out the place just for us, and fill the park with food, drink, and dessert.  We can also ride all the rides with NO LINES!

IMG_3121

Hamish Taylor – great, funny guy, and a very engaging speaker. Check him out on Twitter: @HamishWTaylor

 

IMG_3134

Jewel!

 

IMG_3137

One of the many rides we got unlimited access to!

 

I started feeling poorly on Thursday night.  I woke up Friday morning, and didn’t attend the last of my two sessions.  Michael and I had plans to sit poolside most of the day on Friday, but we only spent a few hours out there.  We had a lazy afternoon in front of the TV, which was just fine with me.  The flight home on Saturday was miserable.  The pressure changes in an airplane are never fun, but they are downright torture when you have sinus pressure.

On the way back, we saw comedian Wanda Sykes in the Orlando Aiport.  I creeped on her and took this picture.

IMG_3146

Despite getting sick, we had a great time on the trip.  While it was for work, it was still a much more relaxed environment and our time of R&R was much needed.

Have you traveled for work conferences? Did you bring your significant other with you? How was your week?

3 thoughts on “Florida, Jewel Concert and the time I creeped on Wanda Sykes

  1. Pingback: 2015 – A Year in Review | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

