(Lack of) Motivation & Losing a Trainer

Prepare thy-selves for a pity party. I’m really good at them!

I’ve become painfully aware of the fact that I haven’t posted much outside of my weekly updates recently.  I’ve been in a funk with my workouts & my motivation, and as a result, I don’t have a lot to talk about.

I have Shamrock in two months and I’m not on any type of running schedule.  I’m way behind and I know it.  Sometimes that motivates me, but right now, its seeming to paralyze me.  My workouts have been hard and frustrating (more so than they should be).

I’m quite sure that I’m in this funk due to the weather and the general cold and yuckiness.  The other thing is that my trainer is going to leave me.  (Throws pity party for myself) Danny and I have been working together for two years.  He’s not just my trainer, he’s my friend.  He motivates me, teaches me, listens to me, counsels me, frustrates me, encourages me….and pretty soon, that’s going to be gone.  He’s moving on to better and brighter things after graduating college in the spring.  I know, I know, I’m spending a lot of time worrying about what is going to happen months from now.  I’m thrilled at what he is going to go out and accomplish.  He has to much to teach, so much to bring to the world….and he is going to flourish.  I’m just upset at my personal loss.  I realize that is selfish of me, but hey…I’m human.

don't leave

This is all of Danny’s clients…

 

Any motivational quotes for me? Have you ever had a trainer/coach leave you?

7 thoughts on “(Lack of) Motivation & Losing a Trainer

  1. You know you can always talk to me. Sorry to hear he’s leaving, I know how hard that is and I hope you are able to find someone as good. I’ve found the winter to bring less motivation so I completely understand where you’re at with that.

  2. I’ve had a couple of trainers leave me to move on with their career aspirations. Its a bummer to change, but I am sure you will eventually find a trainer that is just as good. The hard part is losing that friend.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Update – 6/15/15 | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

