2015 Race Schedule

I’ve given a lot of thought to my schedule for 2015.  In fact, I’ve been thinking about it since November when I started thinking about new year’s resolutions!  I learned a lot of lessons about running, training, and my race schedule in 2014.  One of the biggest takeaways: I hate training for half marathons.  My body does not prefer long distances.  Then, mentally, I get discouraged, and its a bad cycle.  I do, however, like the challenge of a half marathon.

So! This is how I thought about planning for 2015:

1. Only one half marathon

2. Do the races that you LOVE

3. Try some new races

4. Other than the one half, stick with 10k or shorter distances

5. Stay injury free!

I’m very excited about this schedule.  I think it will be much more manageable, less stressful, and I will really get to ENJOY the run.  I also hope that by sticking with mostly shorter distances, I will be able to get my speed improved!

If all goes well, here is my schedule for 2015!

February

Game Day 5k or 10k

March

Shamrock 8k

Shamrock Half Marathon

April

Big Blue 5k

May

Chickfila 5k or 10k

Run for the Dream 8k (possibly – this is the week before my wedding…)

June

I get married!!!

July

Allen Stone Run/Swim/Run

*Kristin and Hollie have said nothing but good things about this race, I’m thinking about giving it a shot!

October

Crawlin Crab 5k

Wicked 10k

November

Harbor Lights 5k

Alumni 5k

December

ChristmasTown 8k

Surf N Santa 5 miler

 

Have you already planned your race schedule for 2015? Do you prefer longer or shorter distances?

4 thoughts on “2015 Race Schedule

  1. That is an amazing and we’ll balanced schedule Lauren! And your racing perspective will bring you much success! And you already know my distance of choice haha lol but I do plan on running a spring half marathon and a fall one as well. 🙂

  2. I focused on 5K/10K last year and it worked out well for me. I’m running a half in a few weeks and feel a lot stronger. Plus it is easier to recover from shorter races. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

