Merry Christmas! & Weekly Update – 12/22

Merry christmas

Merry Christmas!

Merry (belated) Christmas ya’ll! This was a week of a ton of family, a ton of food and only one workout. Sometimes your soul needs restful time.

Monday

After work we had the first of many Christmas celebrations! Monday was the annual Chesson Family Dinner (my stepdad’s family).  My mom always hosts, and we find a way to cram 25 people in her house.

baby mercy

Baby Mercy didn’t cry when I held her!

 

Tuesday

After work, Michael and I celebrated Christmas at my dad’s house with my brother and his fiance, Dad, Patty, Grace, and my in-laws. We do an ugly ornament exchange every year and I think the one I received takes the cake for the worst ever!

ugly ornament

Ew. So ugly.

They spoiled me rotten this year – I got 4 pair of Injinji socks, a yoga bag and a bunch of other stuff.  I have to say, my 13 y.0. stepsister is fantastic at picking out gifts!

Wednesday

Christmas Eve – I had to work a half day.  I convinced my boss to let me work from home, which was lovely.  I headed over to my mom’s house so that we could open presents with my stepsisters and their significant others.  I always love spending time at my mom’s house on Christmas.

Engaged ornament

Sweet ornament from my sister!

All the siblings left, and Michael and I hung at mom’s for awhile. We went to Christmas Eve service with my mom and Ken.

Thursday

We spent the morning of Christmas Day by ourselves, opening presents.  Michael was sweet and got me some wonderful gifts.  He loved the gifts that I got him too.  It was great just to have some downtime with each other.

BMW gloves

Michael loved his BMW driving gloves!

We then went down to Elizabeth City to see his parents, brother and aunt.  We had a late lunch and opened presents. We got his mom a KitchenAid, and the look on her face was priceless!

We headed back to my mom’s later to see her and Ken for Christmas day.

Friday

Although work was open, Michael and I took a vacation day. Friday was a day of total relaxation….sleeping in, movie watching, eating, and just basically being a sloth!

Saturday

I woke up and got to my workout with Danny.  Since this was my first workout in a week and I was feeling a bit under the weather, we took it easy. We did a lot of stretching and stability work.

Saturday afternoon, Michael and I went to return some Christmas gifts, exchange some and spend gift cards.  We also went to Men’s Wearhouse and picked out the suits for the wedding!

Sunday

We went to church in the AM, and then had a pretty lazy day.  I cleaned up the house a bit from the insanity of the last week.

How was your Christmas week? Do you have a million Christmas celebrations, or is it pretty low key?

Leave a Reply

