Surfin Santa 5 Miler Recap!

surfnsanta

So apparently I’ve been getting the name of the race wrong.  It’s Surf N Santa! But I’m still gonna call it Surfin Santa, cause once you get the name wrong, you gotta own it, right?

Packet Pick-up/Expo

Since this was a “twilight” race that started at 4:30pm, packet pickup was same day from 12-4pm.  I like race day pick-up in general, so I was ok with the concept.  They suggested getting there early, because pick-up would be crowded from 2-4pm – which makes total sense, people run late by nature.

Fiance dropped me off at 1:11.  By 1:15, I had all my stuff…so I then had 3 hours to sit around and do nothing.  If I had to do it again, I would have planned to get there around 3pm.

Everything was super efficient, J&A races are always very well organized.  The expo was small compared to some of their bigger races like Shamrock.  I didn’t really spend much time in there.

Race Day Conditions/Attire

I knew it was going to be a cold one….FINALLY, a cold race! Temps were in the upper 30s, but since it was a night race, there was no sun to warm you up.

I opted for my Under Armor running tights that I LOVE with all my heart.  I wore a long sleeved technical shirt, and in a last minute wonderful decision, I opted for a vest.  It was just what I needed to keep my trunk warm, but without all the extra fabric to get me too overheated.

Pre-Race

Everyone hung out in the convention center and I can’t say I blame them…it was a bit chilly out.  They did a great job of announcing to the crowd that there were more bathrooms available with shorter lines.  I really appreciated that.

I got to see friends!!!! I got to see Christy and Phil – a couple from work.  Christy is our Wellness Director. Then I ran into my friend Becca from college.  I tend to run into her at local races.  Its always a great surprise.  She just got engaged and I got to meet her fiance!  I was really focused on finding a few friends of mine from college and ran into them by chance.  Laura and I were on worship team together, and Jessica and I were in a  bible study together.  They brought another friend with them that I’ve never met.

I ended up losing all of them when I took my last  bathroom break, so I just headed out to my corral.

Race Time

The corrals were very well organized as always. I found Laura, Jessica and their friend (whose name escapes me!).  Let’s call her Jill.  Laura and Jessica wanted to take it easy and told Jill to run with me.

Jill and I set out at a nice comfortable pace around 11:15 min/miles. Mile 1 flew by without an issue.  Mile 2 brought the first water stop and the turn around onto the boardwalk.  The lights were fantastic.

I hung with her really well till about 3.5 miles.  My left hip flexor had started to irritate me and I couldn’t get it to stretch out or warm up.  I lost her after the last water stop.

The last mile and a half was rough without my partner, but I hung in there.  The last half mile or so was pretty dark and made me a little nervous.

I finished at 1:03:49. Since this was my first 5-miler, it was technically a PR, but even my worst 8k time (running) was 1:01:39. Oh well.  Still a PR!  🙂

After Party

J&A after parties are always fan-freakin-tastic. They had a chicken and corn chowder, which was to die for. Sam Adams provided the beer – so I got to enjoy a nice winter lager.  The band was great and most importantly, the party was inside and cozy warm!

I love this race and I’ll definitely plan on it again next year!

Have you ever done a twilight race? What is the best post-race food you’ve ever had?

9 thoughts on “Surfin Santa 5 Miler Recap!

  1. Everyone’s recap of this race looks so fun! I want to do a J&A race someday, maybe a vacation type thing for me I guess. That’s neat that they had good beer at the end and also soup- I love it when races have soup at the end because I’m always cold (from both temps and sweat).

    I have done a few evening races and I love finishing under the lights :). Most of our afternoon/evening races are in the summer though and the sun is still out then.

    • It is definitely a blast! Let me know if you ever decide to come visit for one! I love having soups at races too…and its usually not too heavy in my stomach.

      I think a summer evening race would be interesting, I’d like to try that. I did really like running through the lights though. The rare occasions that I run in my neighborhood at night, I love when its Christmas time and I can run past all the lights.

  2. I’m glad you had a good race. I couldn’t imagine hanging out over there for e hours. I honestly think I would have gone home. I wish they did the ten miler but with work, etc I couldn’t justify coming down for a 5 mile night time race.

  3. Pingback: 2014 – First Half Marathon, Engagement and Life Lessons! | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

