Shoe Problems + Self-Diagnosis

So I have been wearing the Saucony Guides ever since I started running. I got fitted at a great local shoe store (Running Etc). I have tried a pair of Nike that were similar, but they just didn’t do the trick.

I was a little apprehensive when the updates from the Guide 6 to the Guide 7 seemed pretty major, but after wearing them a few times, they didn’t seem that different.  Among the notable changes were:

-Saucony has switched from its ProGrid cushioning system to Power Grid for the 7 which is a 15% lighter and 30% more durable material.

-The Guide 7’s newly-created platform have a roomier wider toebox that is definitely more accommodating. Adjustments to the overlays have helped to open up the shoes fit as well.

None of these changes really worried me.  When I put on the shoe, it felt the same as the Guide 6.  So fast forward a few weeks into wearing them and I’m not so sure that these changes were as benign as I once thought.

I started having issues with my heels and arches (suspected plantar fasciitis – yes, yes, I know I shouldn’t self diagnose) a few weeks before I switched to these shoes.  When I realized how horribly worn down the tread was, I chalked it up to broken down shoes.  After switching to the new shoes, it felt much better….for awhile.  Now my arches ache after wearing them.

I didn’t have a ton of pain after Crawlin Crab Half Marathon, but I do remember my feet hurting more than normal while running.  After the Wicked 10k this weekend I had excruciating pain in my left heel the next morning. I couldn’t even bear weight on it for hours it hurt so bad.

Now I’m wondering if the shoes are playing a huge part into my foot pain.  The only other factor that changed in my life is that I’m now doing yoga.  All the research I’ve found is that most yoga poses (especially the simple ones I’m doing) are not detrimental to plantar faciitis… if that is even what is going on.

I’m not sure if the shoes are the culprit, but it seems a bit suspicious.  I probably should stop self-diagnosing and scouring the internet for answers and go get checked by a doctor for real answers.

All my issues seem to point to PF: the pain is worse in the AM or when getting up from a seated position, doesn’t hurt while running, only after, most of the pain is in the heel, but the arches feel tight throughout.

I’m rolling my feet on a tennis ball throughout the day under my desk.  I should be icing more than I am, but I do roll on a frozen water bottle occasionally.  I am going to work in more exercises to stretch out my feet, achilles, and calf. I know that I’m really tight in my back line.  My hamstrings are the only thing that have made any progress.  I hope that trying to stretch more will allow me to ease the tightness that is probably the source of a lot of my pain.

If any of you have suggestions for a stability shoe that is similar to the Saucony Guides, please let me know.  I’m willing to try a new style to see if that makes a difference.

Have you ever switched shoes and noticed a difference in your feet? Do you like to self diagnose?

5 thoughts on “Shoe Problems + Self-Diagnosis

  1. I got re evaluated post-injury and learned that I no longer needed stability. I’m not sure if that had anything to do with my injury or not, we’ll never know, but I think it’s good to do that if you ever get hurt. I *hate* when shoe makers change the shoes up- some even mess with the drops on them and people don’t know (Unless you wear Saucony where they list the drop on the inside of the shoe) then start having issues and research and find that the shoes have a different drop!

    • Interesting – I might need to re-evaluate my needs. I think I still need stability, but hey, I could be wrong! Thanks for the advice 🙂 I’m glad these shoes didn’t have a different drop, but that would at least make sense to me. I can’t imagine that they tweaks they made would be such a huge difference to me, but apparently they are.

      • I say go get re-fitted, you may as well and they might be able to help you or suggest a new shoe/insole. It costs a little more than going online and just buying but if you have injury issues or think you’re getting hurt, it’s the way to go. I have read that people should get re-fitted or reanalyzed every 2 years anyway.

  2. I’m just throwing a bunch of causes of PF to you…You recently did some faster runs, the shoes could be too small, you need more cushion to a shoe. The shoe was worn out but still ran in.

    My recommendations are these (coming from a very serious case of PF that shut down my collge season for a while).
    1. Get a deep tissue massage (expensive but well worth it…emphasis you have PF and need calves and legs to be focused on for the majority of the time).
    2. Stretch calves, and all the stuff you are doing.
    3. Similar shoe models: Brooks Ravenna and Adrenaline. New Balance 860 would be the closest in my opinion as well as Saucony hurricane. Asics 1000/2000/3000 are all good shoes with some stability.

    Of course you know you can always text me…honestly unless you really focus for your gait to change, it’s hard for it to “just change”. If your gait changes from stable to neutral you can get away with a stability shoe. If you change from neutral to stability you cannot. Basically what I’m saying is that if you did need a neutral shoe now I don’t think it would cause PF. That’s not to say it isn’t likely.

    And this might be my longest blog comment ever!

    • I think that was the longest comment someone left on my blog! Thanks for “listening” to me whine. (Which I just typed as “wine” which might be a very freudian slip). I’m sure I’ll bug you soon. I’ll look into those shoe recommendations and I need to make a trip out to Running Etc soon!

Leave a Reply

