Labor Day Weekend + A Silly Injury

I was super excited about this weekend because Michael and I went to Arlington to see my brother (Jaryd) and his girlfriend (Laura)!

We got up early on Saturday morning.  I hate getting up early on my day off, but it was ok because I got my first Pumpkin Spice Latte of the season!

Displaying photo 1.JPG

PSL, how I love you!

We got up there around 10am.  We checked out my brother’s apartment and then made a gameplan for the day.  We planned on doing a bunch of wineries, so we started heading west.  Let me just point out that I’m not a huge wine person.  I will drink it, but it is not my first choice.  Take all my reviews with a grain of salt 🙂

The first one we went to was The Winery at Bull Run.  Their wines were pretty good, but I really liked the atmosphere most.  They had both an inside and outside tasting bar (we opted for outside).

Displaying photo 5.JPG

Aren’t we cute?

Then we headed to Mediterranean Cellars.  This is a greek winery that is a favorite of my dad’s.  He sent me with a list of wines to pick up for him.  It was pretty good. They had a really good port wine that I bought for Michael and me. It had such a cool European feel.

Displaying photo 2.JPG

Overcast, but still pretty!

Next we headed to Marterella Winery, just down the road from Mediterranean Cellars.  I was not very impressed with the wines here, or the service, to be honest.  Maybe I was just grumpy because I needed food, I’m not sure, but I just was not impressed.

We went to a local Irish pub for lunch.  They served a nice bread for appetizers, and I got a chicken Caesar salad.  Jaryd and Laura split a shepherd’s pie that looked pretty good, and Michael got a shrimp Caesar salad.

We got back on the road for the last two wineries.  The next one we hit up was Linden Vineyards.  Jaryd and Laura were really excited to go there. It was one of the most beautiful views I’ve seen.  The wine was decent, but not as outstanding as any of us were expecting.

Displaying photo 3.JPG

Isn’t this place gorgeous!?

The last place we went was my favorite; the Winery at La Grange. I ended up buying a bottle of their viognier.  So good. I didn’t get any pictures and I wish I had.

We headed back to Arlington, got checked into our hotel and then headed out for dinner.  We met Laura and Jaryd and Laura’s parents at the Grand Cru. I had the most outstanding Rustic Mac and Cheese; I was so full I couldn’t finish it! We had a lot of fun getting to know Laura’s parents.  They are so wonderful.

Displaying photo 4.JPG

YUM.

We fell asleep pretty quick and slept in a bit the next day(Sunday). We got up and found a Starbucks and got our day started off right.  We hopped on the metro and headed into Eastern Market.

This is where it all went wrong.

We stepped out onto the sidewalk after exciting the metro station and instantly I stepped wrong, rolled my ankle and fell to the ground.  I’m not sure how I gracefully ended up on my butt, because I definitely should have gone down sideways.  Don’t mind me, fellow pedestrians, I’m just an idiot sitting in your walkway.  Of course, when you roll your ankle, it hurts like hell for the first couple minutes.  I eventually was able to wiggle it around and get up. Bearing weight didn’t bother it so much, but walking did. I toughed it out and stupidly proceeded to walk around on it the rest of the day. Of course, walking around a city is about the worst thing you can do because the ground is uneven everywhere.  I stepped funny a few more times and made it angry at me.

We went to the Museum of Natural History and walked around the mall area to see some of the monuments and then decided it was time for lunch.  We went to a pretty cool beer/burger joint for a late lunch, then got back on the road (and off my foot!).

How do I feel about my injury?

Well, it doesn’t hurt too bad now.  Every once and awhile I’ll step in just a certain way that aggravates it.  I haven’t tried doing anything other than walking yet, but we’ll see.  Of course my mind immediately goes to my half-marathon.  I have not sufficiently prepared for this half thus far, and I can’t afford to back off now.  However, like I said, it doesn’t really hurt that bad.  I feel even a little funny saying I injured myself because I’m not really in pain. I have a workout with my trainer – we’ll see how that goes.  Not sure if I want to try to run just yet. I’m just annoyed more than anything else.  I’m the type of person that just is clumsy and hurts themselves by just walking around a city!!!

Have you ever gotten injured in a really silly way? Have you ever fallen in a public place and embarrassed yourself?

3 thoughts on “Labor Day Weekend + A Silly Injury

  1. Ouch!!! Sorry to hear that you rolled your ankle!! That’s never fun and can be very annoying!! Hope it’s feeling much better now and good luck with your training!! You’re going to do great!!
    This past winter, when I was running, I decided it would be a great idea to do a u-turn right on the chunk of ice!! It didn’t turn out sooo good!!!
    XOXO!! Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

