FMS Score Round 2: Improvement!

So a few months ago (in April) I wrote about an FMS screening that my trainer did for me. You can read all about it here.

For those of you who won’t click on it, here are the highlights of the Functional Movement Systems (FMS) program.  Their website, tells you all about how it works, but in summary and in their words:

“Put simply, the FMS is a ranking and grading system that documents movement patterns that are key to normal function. By screening these patterns, the FMS readily identifies functional limitations and asymmetries. These are issues that can reduce the effects of functional training and physical conditioning and distort body awareness.

The FMS generates the Functional Movement Screen Score, which is used to target problems and track progress. This scoring system is directly linked to the most beneficial corrective exercises to restore mechanically sound movement patterns.

Exercise professionals monitor the FMS score to track progress and to identify those exercises that will be most effective to restore proper movement and build strength in each individual.”

Basically – for each exercise/activity on the assessment, you can get a score of 1,2 or 3.  A three is the best you can get; meaning you performed the activity correctly and optimally.  A two means that you are proficient, but work is needed on technique.  A one means you need correction in that area.  If an exercise is done bilaterally, and one side is stronger than the other, you receive the lower of the 2 scores.

Last time I did this – we did 7 exercises for a total of a possible 21 points.  I received a 14.

This time, Danny adjusted it down to 3 exercises for a total of a possible 9 points.  I got a 7.  (Woot!)  If you score 1-3 then you need major correction, 4-6 needs some adjustment, 7-9 means you should only need to maintenance.

That being said, just because I ended up in the top category does not mean I only need to maintenance.  Danny and I know I have a few things to work on, and that’s ok.  He “prescribed” me some of the correction exercises to account for that.  He might have other opinions, but these are my takeaways:

1. My hips have gotten much stronger and much more open (though not perfect).

2. My calves, shins and ankles are still really tight.  I have been instructed to foam roll, use the stick, and roll on a tennis/golf ball often.

3. Because of my scoliosis, I have issues with bilateral equality.  Strengthening my core will help a lot.

4. Yoga has benefited me immensely.  I know that a lot of my strength and flexibility can be attributed to that.

5. The unilateral movements (single arm or leg) that Danny and I have been doing have helped a LOT.

6.  I’ve saved the best for last.  My number one focus has switched from just being active for activities sake to being SMART and do things RIGHT.  Form and correction is so much more important than its ever been.  Success is no longer defined by just getting out there and “getting it done,” but by doing it injury free.  Its always been my goal in running, but its spilling over more and more into all areas of my physical activity.  I’m so much more aware of how everything is intertwined.

Thanks for staying with me through that brain dump.  I am excited about the progress we’ve made (trust me, so much of this has been Danny’s doing) and I can’t wait to see how we continue to improve! This journey has been hard but so worth it!

Leave a Reply

