Fun Weekend in Chincoteague + Island Creamery

When I decided to take a vacation day on Friday, I thought I had a nice relaxing weekend in store.  Little did I know that my mom would call and we’d end up going camping in Chincoteague!

I woke up Friday morning and was able to get a bunch of laundry done and a good hour of yoga.  I got myself packed and cleaned up and went to see my mom.

After we dropped her car off at the shop, we went to get Michael’s birthday present. After that it was JoJacks time!  I texted Hollie since we’ve eaten there together before, and I found out that she had been there only 20 short minute earlier! I was so sad I missed her!

Displaying photo.JPG

Chicken Bacon Panini – OMG.

I had wanted to get some wedding planning stuff done with my vacation time so we headed to a florist to get some ideas for wedding stuff. After that we headed to the store that I got my wedding dress to look at bridesmaids dresses and get color swatches.

Finally, we got on the road to Chincoteague.  I don’t remember most of the (2.5 hr) drive as I was daydreaming about Island Creamery.  We pulled into the campground and met up with my mom’s sister (Helen) and my cousins Rachel and Brandon.  Brandon also brought his girlfriend, Kiley. We ate dinner then it was off to Island Creamery.  This ice cream place has won awards, ya’ll.

After spending forever trying to find parking, we joined the insanely long line that looked like this:

Displaying photo.JPG

This ice cream is SO worth the wait!

Displaying photo.JPG

That’s a 2-scoop waffle cone – Pony Tracks and Mint!

We hung around the campground for the rest of the night, sitting around the campfire…you know, typical camping stuff.

The next day we got up, made bacon and eggs and had some coffee.  We waited forever for the teenagers to get up and ready.  The cool thing about Chincoteague is that its a really small beach town with lots of touristy stuff to do.  We hit up a bunch of quaint little shops for a good portion of the morning and early afternoon.  We came back for a late lunch and played round after round of Bananagrams – of which I am the champion! Sometimes we get bored of playing regular words so we’ll play with names or verbs or other categories.

Mom and I got some Island Creamery pints and quarts to go of some of our favorite flavors and then got on the road.  I really love spending time with my mom.

So while the weekend was short and sweet – and I got pretty much zero rest, it was a good one 🙂

6 thoughts on “Fun Weekend in Chincoteague + Island Creamery

Leave a Reply

