Weekly Update – 8/4

Can you believe it is AUGUST already?  And here in VA, we have had unseasonably cool weather.

Monday

Monday Morning: Got up early for a 2.5 walk/run on the treadmill.

Monday Night: Hatha yoga with Sue. She made class much harder this week since last Monday was “easy.” Did a lot of hip openers again, which I love.  My hamstrings were rather tight which lent to some difficulty, but nothing too bad.

Tuesday

Woke up with some discomfort in my left heel.  I’m going to switch to running in my new shoes and see if that alleviates anything.  I think the shoes I’m wearing have bit the dust.

Danny night. Felt pretty good, super sweaty.  I suck at jump roping!

Three Rounds:

1. Elevated split squat kettle bell press (reverse grip) – 12 each side

2. Hamstring rope pull

3. Jump Rope for 3 minutes

Wednesday

Wednesday Morning:  2.25 miles walk/run on the treadmill.

Wednesday Night: Vinyasa yoga with Sue.  Class was pretty difficult.  I FINALLY got Half Moon and was able to hold it for at least 10 seconds!  It’s easier on one side than the other, but eventually I’ll even out.

Side Note: My right shoulder was abnormally sore from Tuesday’s workout and made doing anything where I put my hands behind my back nearly impossible.

Thursday

Danny night.  My shoulder was really bothering me all day on Thursday, so we basically did a rehab day.  Danny diagnosed it as anterior deltoid soreness; mostly cause my shoulders are super tight due to my scoliosis.

Round One (2x):

1. Resistance Band pull forward (20 sec hold each side)

2. Resistance Band pull down (20 sec hold each side)

Round Two (2x):

1. 10 “power rangers” each side

2. 5 hip hinges

3. 1o resistance band side steps

4. 5 hip hinges

5. 10 resistance band side steps

My shoulder felt significantly better after that, but I suspect it might be a few days before it feels 100%.

Friday

Friday Morning: Walk 1.75 miles on the treadmill.

Friday Night:  Rest night, YAY.

Saturday

Danny and I worked out in the outside area.  He had me working out with Nicole (another trainer).  We had to stick together and not move on to the next exercise until we were both done.  It was a pretty tough workout. Nicole is pretty hard to keep up with – she’s a machine!

1. 25 single arm resistance band press (each side)

2. Run 100 meters

3. 25 single arm dumb bell cleans (10 lbs) each side

4. Run 200 meters

5. 25 single arm suitcase dead lift with 20 lb kettle bell (each side)

6. Run 300 meters

7. 50 resistance band back rows

8. Run 100 meters

9. 50 goblet squats with 30 lb dumb bell

10. Run 200 meters

11. 50 kettle bell swings with 20 lb kettle bell

12. Run 300 meters

Sunday

Rest day.  Got to go down to Elizabeth City to see Michael’s parents, which is always nice.  Got my grocery shopping done for the week then totally vegged out for the rest of the night.  I think I babied my shoulder on Saturday and my neck was bothering me a bit.  Danny is trying to kill me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

