Weekly Update – 7/22

Monday

I was SO excited all day for yoga.  Then I found out late in the afternoon that my gym was closed because a truck hit the transformer and they weren’t able to restore power.  I’d be lying if I told you I went home and did yoga on my own.  I totally was a lazy bum all night.

Tuesday

I woke up with the same dizziness I experienced a few weeks ago which was diagnosed as a sinus infection and fluid in my ears.  I went through a 1o day round of antibiotics and now its back.  I’m frustrated – either I have more fluid issues, or that wasn’t really the issue to begin with. Guess I’ll wait it out.

Danny night. It was pretty warm out, but he wanted to workout outside.  Oh joy.

First Round (2x):

1. 10 hip hinges with resistance band

2. 10 resistance band side steps

3. Jump rope – 100 revolutions (we don’t go by time anymore because I suck at jump roping)

Second Round (2x):

1. Split squat T-bar press (10 each side)

2. Box step-ups with 10 lb dumb bell (10 each side)

3. Bent over rows with 20 lb dumb bell (10 each side)

Because it was so hot, it took me much longer to recover. I’m not built for heat.  I swear it affects me so much more than others.

Wednesday

Since I didn’t get to go to yoga on Monday night, I was bound and determined to go on Wednesday. I even got there early (mostly so I could get my “spot”).

Class was good – much faster paced than normal, which was ok, but didn’t always lend itself to allowing me to get my posture correct.  We did a lot of twists and hip openers.  Much like I have issues with half moon, I have issues with Down Dog Split with a bent knee.  My hips are so tight (especially my hip flexors), its darn near impossible!

Why is this so hard for me? Darn hip flexors.

Thursday

Danny night.  My back was bothering me throughout most of the day, so I was unsure about how the workout would go. I worried for nothing.

Round One (2x):

1. Single Arm resistance band press (20 each side)

2. Resistance band pull-aparts (20)

3. 20 Up-Down planks

Round Two (2x):

1. Single arm suitcase carry deadlift with kettle bell (10 each side)

2. 2o Kettle bell swings

3. Kneeling resistance band “Y” raises (10)

Friday

Rest night.

Saturday

Danny time! Well, kind of.  He got stuck on his way in and texted me my workouts and joined me when he got in.

First Round (2x):

1. 400 Meter row – under 2 min

2. Single arm kettle bell swings (25 at 12 lbs) on the left side

3. 400 Meter row – under 2 min

4. Single arm kettle bell swings (25 at 12 lbs) on the right side

Second Round (2x):

1. 4 stair runs (up & down) with 10 lbs medicine ball overhead

2. 8 medicine ball slams w/burpee

I got to spend the rest of the day with one of my dear friends from college, Alayna.  She is going to the Navy Ball in October and needed to find a dress (and she did!), so we spent the day at MacArthur Mall shopping and catching up.

Sunday

Another rest day.  I needed it.  I did not sleep well Saturday night/early Sunday morning.  I was up at 4am because a nightmare woke me up and had trouble getting back to sleep. I actually took a nap, which is a rarity for me.  Decided to get to bed early (early for me) because I’m starting morning workouts.

This is the plan….

4 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 7/22

  1. I actually saw that on facebook. I wondered what had happened that their power went out. I hope you have a good week this week. People understimate the power and value of sleep for recovery.

Leave a Reply

