Checking on Progress….

Right after my last half marathon I wrote this post about the things that I need to work on.  I thought I’d check in and see how I’ve been progressing, as well as highlight the things I haven’t worked on!

1. I need to do more core work.  My back and core hurt a lot.

My trainer and I have been slowly working on this.  Due to my scoliosis, core strengthening work has to be very calculated.  My lower back is still pretty weak, but I think between the work Danny and I are doing and yoga, I’m starting to make progress.

2.  My hamstrings are still really tight…they need even MORE work.

I think I’ve come leaps and bounds in this area.  Yoga has been the key here.  I’m getting toward the point that I can almost get my heels down while doing Downward Dog.

3.  My feet and ankles need a lot more strengthening.

Yoga has helped here, but there is still work to be done.  As I write this, I’m rolling on a tennis ball!

4.  This one is a biggie: I need to get away from my heel strike.

I don’t think this is fixable at this point in time.

5. I don’t do any speedwork.  Need to fix that!

Correction: I need to run more. Or, like, at all.

6. I need to increase mileage SLOWLY.

Yes I do.  And I’m not going to do that to the best of my ability this time around either, but I will be smarter about it. Staying injury free is more important that getting exactly 10 miles in on my long run.

7. I cannot cheat on my workouts.  I will definitely pay for it later.

I’ve done a lot better on this.  I’ve also been much better about taking my rest days so that I have the energy to complete my workouts.

8. I need to improve my nutrition.

I will never be where I want to be/should be with my nutrition.  However, I have made some good corrections recently and I’m focusing so much more on my nutrition now.

All in all, I think I’ve made decent progress.  I think the best thing I could do for myself is to correct my anatomical deficiencies and strengthen my supporting muscles.  Dear runners: strength training and yoga are your friends!

What are some things you are working on?  Have you looked back recently to see your progress?

6 thoughts on “Checking on Progress….

  1. Ha, looks like you got quite a list there. I love how yoga is the answer to several of them. I’m working on trying to get faster and also maintaining some level of distance fitness in the Texas heat. It’s a process!

  2. I don’t think any of us will ever be exactly where we want with nutrition. It seems like and just everything get in the way of that. I know you’ll get where you want with running again. If you ever need any advice or anything feel free to ask away. Lord knows I’ve reached my wedding quota questions lately ha ha.

  3. Definitely keep working on your core. It will make you such a stronger runner in the long run. I would probably break into a thousand pieces if it wasn’t for yoga.

    I agree with Hollie too in that I don’t think any one of us are exactly in the right spot nutritionally. I don’t even know if there is a right formula for it. If you find out what that is though, please share because I need it too.

Leave a Reply

