Adjusting Goals and Fall Half Marathons

I want to preface this post with a disclaimer: I am a runner, but I run for FUN. That being said, all decisions I make regarding training/races are to allow me to have fun and stay injury free.  Other than being competitive with myself on times(who isn’t?), I do these races for fun.  There is no goal for a  race important enough to supersede the focus on my health.

So after I completed the Shamrock 1/2 marathon, I decided to make the Crawlin Crab 1/2 Marathon my next goal race.  A goal race for me means trying to improve my times, possibly PR.  I foolishly signed up for the Shell Yeah Challenge; I will run the 5k on Saturday of race weekend and the half-marathon on Sunday. The races are the first weekend in October.

Well – my goals have changed.

Due to a complete lack of motivation and training, I know I will not be adequately prepared for Crawlin Crab.  Furthermore, if race day is as hot as it was last year, it will be a struggle.  I’m not making excuses here, I’m attempting to make a smart, calculated decision.

Sometimes things don’t go as we plan, and it is ok.

My new goal race is the Harbor Lights Half Marathon in November. By switching goals, it will allow my half-marathon in October become more of a training run.  I plan on employing a walk/run interval strategy.  I haven’t decided what that will look like yet, but that’s the plan.

It would be easy for me to get discouraged, to abandon the (Crawlin Crab) race or defer to next year.  However, I want to use this as a learning experience while making smart decisions and not force myself to do something that will result in an injury.  That being said, I really want to do this race – its FUN.  So I’m going to treat it like it’s fun.  I’m going to commit to working hard the next few weeks so that I can successfully run/walk it.

After that, I’ll have 7 weeks to  finish preparing for the Harbor Lights half. I think this plan is do-able.  I’m excited about this new plan and I think (and hope!) it will rejuvenate my training.

Thank you all for your advice over the past few weeks as I sought inspiration for motivation and struggled with decisions about races.

I know that some of you have had some changes in your race schedules recently, or have been dealing with injuries, and I’m hoping this is encouraging to you.

How do you handle changing goals? Do you get discouraged or rejuvenated?

 

10 thoughts on “Adjusting Goals and Fall Half Marathons

  1. I change my plans all of the time! Last year, I injured myself and decided to cancel my plans to run my 2nd marathon. It felt let down initially, then I decided I would take some time off to heal, then come back and train smarter. Now, I’m definitely a stronger runner than before! We do these races for FUN and personal growth, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with re-evaluating your goals 🙂

  2. Summer training is HARD! I’m always in survival mode in the summer but it pays off big time in the fall when temperatures drop. Smart choice switching your focus to the November half!

Leave a Reply

