Harbor Lights Race Series & a big decision

O.M.G! New J&A Race coming this fall and I cannot control my excitement!!!

Just today, they announced a new race series for the November 21-23rd weekend.  This will be a very beautiful run, taking place along the historic downtown Norfolk waterfront.

Races it will feature:

– Blue Moon Harbor Lights 5k

-Harbor Lights Final Mile

-Harbor Lights Half Marathon

-Get Lit Challenge (5k and Half Marathon)

Check out more information here: http://harborlightshalf.com.

Of course, you know I’m a sucker for a challenge, and I want to do the Get Lit Challenge.  However, I also know that I cannot push it, and I’ve pushed that idea out of my mind.  I am considering the half though.

This is what my current race schedule for the fall looks like:

October 4-5: Crawlin Crab Shell Yeah Challenge (5k and Half Marathon)

October 25: Wicked 10k

December 6: Surfin Santa 10 Miler

I”m not sure that inserting a half marathon into that schedule in late November is the best of ideas, but I really really want to do it.  November is such a great month for a half marathon.  I know for sure I could do the 5k, no problem.

If I were to do it, I would use the Crawlin Crab weekend as my tune up race – getting back into the swing of things, and make Harbor Lights my goal race for the the fall.  I’m not in as great shape as a lot of you guys are, and I tend to be injury/niggle prone.  I would love to be one of those people that can race 1/2 marathons back to back weekends, or even in the same month, but I’m not there.

If I were to do this, I’d have a 7 week window between the two.  I think it’s do-able, I just don’t know how smart it is.  Or maybe I chose to defer Crawlin Crab till next year (which I really don’t want to do).

I know that none of you can tell me what to do, I definitely don’t expect you to; I’m just trying to work out my thoughts about it.

How much time do you like to leave between half marathons? 

10 thoughts on “Harbor Lights Race Series & a big decision

  1. Honestly you do have time. My biggest recommendation would be get a deep tissue massage and then rest easy and taper in between. You could 100% do that. A big possibility with niggles would be replacing shoes more frequently. They could lose cushion and therefore creating more niggles.

    • Thanks, Hollie. I know that good recovery and rest will be the key to being able to do it. I find my shoes tend to get beat up a little fast than most, I don’t get the mileage out of them that I should.

  2. I definitely think you could do both half marathons. My 2nd and 3rd half marathons were 3 weeks apart, I actually did the second one replacing a 13 mile training run for the 3rd one. I think 7 weeks is a good amount of time because you’ll have a chance to recover and evaluate your race and set new goals.

    I second Hollie’s recommendation on the shoes. Maybe have the other pair on hand to train in, rotating your shoes every other run or so? Then you won’t have to spend the time between the races breaking in another pair of shoes. I do log mileage on my shoes and don’t go over 400 or so, but I have also found that after races, like a marathon or a few half marathons, my shoes are done.

    That race looks like so much fun :). I’ve never done a race in VA but it looks great and I love that there’s a challenge with it too. Plus I have read Hollie’s reviews of that company’s races and it seems like they are always good.

    • Thanks, girl. I think you are right. I’m slightly concerned about the 10 miler being 2 weeks after the 2nd half marathon, but Hollie assures me I’ll be just fine too. The 10 miler is not a goal race of mine, just a new distance I want to try.

      I definitely agree with you both about the shoes. I think rotating them will be key. Can’t running shoes be free?! 🙂 I have trouble with races that have the after party on the sand because I can NEVER get it all out!!

      It does look like fun. All of the J&A races are SO on point. They are pretty great. If you ever want to venture to VA to try one, let me know. They are so worth it!

      • With 2 weeks in between, I think you’ll be fine. Just take the 10 miler easy and use it more as a long run for the second half marathon. Plus if it’s a new distance that’s an instant PR anyway!

  3. I think you’ll be fine! You can always chose to race one and take it a little easier on the other. That’s what I did for the Dopey Challenge. But if it were me, I’d race the first one, then rest up and try to race the 2nd one. If the legs give out the 2nd one, then just plog along and enjoy it!

  4. I agree with Hollie you have plenty of time to recover between races I would appoach your October half mary as if it were a tempo training hold back a bit and leave some in the tank since it’s a challenge weekend anyways. And then I would race the November half mary all out 🙂

  5. Your races all have such cool titles, it makes me want to run them as well! 😉 I don’t know if you go all our in races, or if you are happy to run some with the goal of just completing them merrily an happily. If it’s the latter, I don’t see why you couldn’t do another half in November. You might not be able to PB in all of those races you have lined up, but you should be able to complete them nicely. Besides, it’ll make that 10-miler in December all the easier to finish! =) Good luck!

  6. Pingback: Adjusting Goals + Fall Half Marathons | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

