(Lack of) Motivation

I don’t know about you, but I’ve felt a complete lack of motivation to run recently.  I have tons of motivation to do yoga, to do my strength workouts with my trainer, but yet zero desire to run.

I take that back, I desire to run.  I’m looking forward to running Crawlin Crab Half Marathon.  I love the challenge of preparing for a race. But I just seriously lack any motivation.

I’m reminded of this cheesy song by Sum 41 (yeah yeah – I’m a highschooler at heart, I forever live in the early 2000s)

“Motivation such an aggravation,
Accusations don’t know how to take them.
Inspiration’s getting hard to fake it.
Concentration’s never hard to break it.
Situation never what you want it to be.”

I”m less than 12 weeks out and I’m not really running.  Now, that’s not to say I’m not staying active, but I need to be running. I’ve already decided that my training for my last half was a little too aggressive, and my running needed to be fewer miles on a more frequent basis.  I’m hoping the prospect of shorter runs will be the push I need.

This is NOT where I want to be. I need a serious kick.  In the rear.

How do you stay motivated? What inspires you to keep pushing even when you lack motivation?

14 thoughts on “(Lack of) Motivation

  1. You are so not alone chica I historically have struggling to find motivation to run especially during the summer months. If I’m not training for a specific race my mind and interest wander a lot. What helps me is a change of scenery maybe running somewhere new or breaking your run up over the course of the day. Or even you could try putting together a new playlist to run to

  2. Summer is really hard to stay motivated! Just bc of the heat and humidity here, and you have to run super early in the morning or else. Maybe you could sign up for a local 5K before the half, just to test the waters, or either volunteer at a race? Also group runs are good motivation- we have pub runs here every other week where you run a different route then go out to eat and drink (I don’t really drink and have never felt pressured to at ours). Plus you meet new people, new routes, new places to eat/drink. I think changing it up kinda helps.

    • I actually really love the suggestion of volunteering at a race. Its something I’ve always wanted to do, and what could be more motivating than watching others run and wishing you could be with them!

  3. I think the problem is, it’s been so hot lately. I have terrible motivation (that and being injured) so it’s a little easier to bare. I would honestly say just changing it up and finding someone to run with. I wish that someone was me!

    • Yeah summer heat + running = miserable. I think you are right – gotta have a running partner; I wouldn’t want to stand someone up! Girl, if you were here, you’d be running laps around me 🙂

  4. I find that doing a couple of short easy runs can help me get back into the swing of it – the trick is to not think about it and just get over the doorstep again. After a couple of runs like that, I usually feel much better. 😉
    Best of luck!

  5. I think the hot summer months tend to do that to a lot of people. The hardest part for me personally is getting out the door. Just keep reminding yourself how great it feels to get those runs in! And I agree that a few short miles might help you get right back on track!

  6. Motivation is a part of running related to what’s between the ears. I think that the mental aspect to running is often more difficult than the physical aspect. (When your knee hurts, that’s obvious. When you lack motivation, and then you think your knee hurts, that’s something different) I ran alone for a few years, and started to lose my motivation. Joining a training program/running group helped that, but I still struggle with motivation during the weekdays. My most recent approach is to immediately put my running clothes on in the morning when my alarm goes off. It’s impossible to not run at that point!

    • Running is so much more mental for me than physical (although that doesn’t mean its easy -haha). I really think what I’m discovering here is that I need to force myself out of the door, and I think a running partner/group may help! Thanks for the advice!

  7. I hear ya and I know every runner can relate! It sounds simple but I always focus on two things when I’m lacking motivation. 1) How good I’ll feel after the run 2) How hard I’ve worked to get to the shape I’m in and I don’t want that to go to waste.

    I also love keeping a training log. There’s something crazy-rewarding about getting to write down a workout, then I can always go back, look at it and feel proud when I’m lacking motivation. Good luck, hope all these comments ignite a little fire in you!

    • Those are two really good points to focus on. Especially the 2nd point. It does take hard work to get in shape, and getting that fitness back is difficult!

      I love the idea of a training log. I always start one, then fail to keep up with it. But I agree that looking back at it is motivating. All these comments have helped a lot!!!

Leave a Reply

