Weekly Update – 6/16

Monday

Yoga night.  Jaye substituted as teacher again.  I’m not a huge fan of her style.  She treats a nice, slow,  hatha yoga class more like a Vinyasa class, but it was much better this time.

Tuesday

Danny night. We did a LOT in the 30 minutes we work together and I suspect I’ll get more sore as the day goes on.

Round 1:

1. 10 body weight squats with arms at 90 degree angle with resistance band

2. 10 body weight squats with arms overhead in Y shape with resistance band

3. 10 split squats each side (I think I was supposed to do this in the same manner as the squats – do 10 with arms at 90 degree angle and 10 with arms over head in Y shape – but Danny never corrected me)

Round 2:

1. Plank with 10 reachouts

2. 10 jump squats

3. Plank with 9 reach outs

4. 9 jump squats

5. Plank with 8 reach outs

6. 8 jump squats

We did this pattern all the way down to 1

Round 3:

1. 5 body weight squats with arms at 90 degree angle with resistance band

2. 5 body weight squats with arms overhead in Y shape with resistance band

3. 5 split squats each side

Round 4:

1. Plank with 5 reachouts

2. 5 jump squats

3. Plank with 4 reachouts

4. 4 jump squats

We did this pattern all the way down to 1

Wednesday

Actually had worship team practice for church this week.  I was really looking forward to Wednesday yoga and I couldn’t go!

Thursday

Danny night.  Was really feeling like crap all morning, so I hoped I would pull it together for our workout. I felt pretty ok for our workout.

We did this progression 3x.

1. “I” raises on the TRX (10)

2. “Y” raises on the TRX (10)

3. “T” raises on the TRX (10)

4. Then I had to push a medicine ball forward while “walking” in plank position, alternating hands.  We went halfway down the walkway, then I had to “walk” backward and push the ball toward me.

5. Two hand kettle bell carry with shrug – 50 m (20 lbs)

6. Right arm kettle bell carry with shrug – 25 m (20 lbs)

7. Goblet kettle bell carry with shrug – 50 m (20 lbs)

8. Left arm kettle bell carry with shrug – 25 m (20 lbs)

Friday 

Rest day. Got to spend some much needed quality time with the fiance.

Saturday

Danny.  So, my back bothered me a lot on Friday night (I have scoliosis) and I didn’t sleep well, so I asked him to take it easy. We pretty much just did a lot of stretching.

Three rounds of the following:

1. Three 10 sec holds of a deep exaggerated lunge (each side)

2. 10 rollouts (each side) of one arm extended on a foam roller

3. Eye of the needle pose into a bridge -holding 15 seconds for each position (each side)

***Let me point out that I told my trainer about this one 🙂 ****

Eye of the Needle - new favorite stretch!

Eye of the Needle – new favorite stretch!

We ran into another trainer named Jeremy (you may have heard me complain about his hard workouts before).  We picked his brain a lot about my scoliosis.  He made me do a bunch of exercises and movements to figure out where my deficiencies were.  Danny is going to work on creating exercises and movements that will help correct that as much as possible.

Then the rough part: had a heart to heart with my trainer about diet.  He took a close look at my food logs and realized that I was eating much worse than he thought.  We made a plan for me to lose 30 lbs in 6 months.  This is totally an attainable goal for me, I’ve done it before. However, I went from being completely sedentary to working out 3-4 times a week.  Now, I already workout at 3-4 times a week, so I can’t use that as my catalyst for change anymore. We are going to increase the intensity of our workouts (greeeaaaaaat) and he’s going to pay close attention to my diet.

Sunday

Rest day.  Got some stuff done around the house, finally donated some clothes I’ve had sitting in my guest room forever, and spent some time with my dad and stepmom!

Did you have a good weekend?  What do you do to switch things up when you are trying to meet weight loss goals – do you change your intensity, diet, etc?

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 6/16

  1. I feel like your trainer is seriously so intense. Every week I get tired reading about your workouts. Nice job this week and I think it was good you and your trainer had such a solid heart to heart. I cannot wait to hear about your results!

Leave a Reply

