It was a dark and stormy night…

I have to share with you guys one of the freakiest experiences that I had at the gym yesterday.

So I normally change into my gym clothes at work and then head straight to the gym. I usually get there around 5:30 or so.  On the way to the gym, I could see some storm clouds rolling in, and the rain was just starting.  It had been a pretty hot and humid day, so these type of afternoon storms are pretty typical.

storm2 62014

Here is a picture someone posted on facebook of the storm rolling in.

I get inside, throw my stuff in a locker, plug in my headphones and go to the stretching mat.  I’m there for a few minutes and I start hearing thunder so loud that I can hear it even with my headphones in! I looked outside and the thunder and lightning was terrible. I could tell the storm was pretty close. Within a few minutes, there was a torrential downpour and the wind was blowing the trees as if we were in a hurricane. I’m not exaggerating when I say that it was one of the worst storms I’ve ever experienced.

storm 62014

Just to show you how strong the storm was – here was a picture posted by the news of some damage.

The rain on the roof and the thunder outside was deafening.  I was so tempted to stop my stretching and go watch the rain.

I continue stretching and making small talk with a girl sitting next to me about the storm, and the next thing I know, the power goes out. I then hear a huge rush of water next to me – a leak opened up over the stretching mat…right where the girl was sitting.  She scrambled out of the way, and thankfully grabbed my shoes so they didn’t get drenched.

I was just pulling up the flashlight on my phone when the power came back on.

Thankfully no one got hurt when the power went out…I always worry about runners flying off treadmills or people who are lifting accidentally dropping their weights.

Couldn't you just see this happening?

Couldn’t you just see this happening?

Craziest experience at the gym to date.

Do you remember the worst storm you’ve been through? Has the power ever gone off when you were at the gym?  What is the craziest thing that’s happened to you while working out?

6 thoughts on “It was a dark and stormy night…

  1. Nothing crazy during well then I guess that baby gator running across the sidewalk last week might count. The worst storm I’ve ever been in was a tropical system that went across our state about two years ago. It started on a Sunday and was super windy and pretty much torrential for nearly three days staight with occasional breaks in the rain. It flooded everywhere

  2. I’m glad no one was hurt! We got stuck at the pool once during a tornado – my whole family was huddling inside the bathrooms, and when we came out there were trees down all around us.

Leave a Reply

