Workout Music

Top-10-Workout-Songs-For-Winter-2012-1

Silly runner – that is how you lose your ipod…

I have been a music lover since I was in the womb.  We have pictures of my dad putting headphones on my mom’s belly when I was in utero.  I used to rock myself to sleep to the sounds of Pink Floyd.  So naturally, music has continued to be a big part of my life.  I took piano lessons for 10 years, I was in chorus in high school (even made Virginia All-State Women’s Chorus!).

I know some people like to be “purists” while running or working out and don’t like to listen to music.  I am not one of those people.  Music has brought me out of some of the toughest places during a training run (or race!) and keeps me pumped up when at the gym.

Here is a little peek into some of what I listen to – all these songs were from my half-marathon playlist:

  • Turn Down for What – DJ Snake & Lil Jon
  • Dark Horse – Katy Perry
  • TKO – Justin Timberlake
  • Do What You Want – Lady Gaga
  • My Chick Bad – Ludacris
  • Sweater Weather – The Neighborhood
  • Timber – Pitbull feat. Kesha
  • Encore – Eminem
  • Can’t Hold Us – Macklemore
  • Runaway Baby – Bruno Mars
  • Bezerk – Eminem
  • Fine China – Chris Brown
  • Won’t Back Down – Eminem feat. Pink
  • Scary Monsters and Sprites – Skrillex
  • Chloe (You’re the One I Want) – Emblem3
  • We No Speak Americano – Yolanda Be Cool
  • The Future Freaks Me Out – Motion City Soundtrack
  • Dress On – Justin Timberlake
  • Run Right Back – The Black Keys
  • Prayer – Disturbed
  • 99 Problems – JayZ
  • Jump – Kris Kross
  • Titanium – David Guetta & Sia
  • All I Do is Win – DJ Khaled
  • Starships – Nicki Minaj
  • Workout Plan – Kanye West
  • I Will Wait – Mumford and Sons
  • Pressing On -Relient K
  • Send Me on My Way – Rusted Root
  • Let the Groove Get In – Justin Timberlake

This of course is not an extensive list, but they are some of my tried and true favorites!  I know you are probably thinking that I have a bit of an eclectic taste in music – I like almost EVERYTHING.  This is not even close to a true representation of all my music, just my workout music.

What is some of your favorite music to workout to? Or, do you hate listening to music when you workout/run?

8 thoughts on “Workout Music

  1. Hey, great music!! I’m not a huge fan of listening to music while working out, but I LOVE MUSIC!! You have a great list, though!!! Hope you’re having a great day!!! XOXO!!

  2. That is quite the playlist!!! You are all over the map in musical taste which awesome!!! I’m the same way 🙂 I’m about an 85% purists runner, I do like my tunes for long runs and treadmill workouts

    • Haha! Glad I’m not the only one.

      You know, I pegged you for a purist. But I totally understand the need for music on the treadmill. I either need music or I’ll plug into the TVs at the gym so I can hear SOMETHING other than my feet pounding 🙂

  3. I’m training for a marathon right now and I can’t imagine running 15 milers in complete silence! That’s awesome you have a music background too, I started playing violin when I was 8 AND my parents raised me on Pink Floyd as well 🙂 I’ve been using Pandora on my runs lately, usually the Katy Perry or Lorde station 🙂

  4. Can’t Hold Us from Macklemore is on my running playlist as well. The rhythm at the beginning is so motivating, and the tempo is just right for a medium paced running.

Leave a Reply

