Back in Time: 2013 Wicked 10K

Can you tell how much I just LOVE J&A Races?  The Wicked 10K is another favorite of mine.  I was super unprepared for this race too, and it definitely showed in my time.  This is a race that I really want to redeem myself in this year.

I got down to the convention center nice and early and sought refuge in my nice warm car.  After awhile, I headed into the convention center to check out all of the costumes.   I’m telling you what, I don’t know how these people ran in some of the stuff they were wearing.  A Scooby Doo Mystery Machine….CRAZY!  I think my favorite costume was a group of guys that dressed as Duck Dynasty and carried a canoe!

After awhile I headed outside.  Due to this being in late October, it was pretty cool, even by VA standards.  I completely overdressed and paid for it later (tank, long sleeves, short sleeves and capris).  I don’t remember much of the race.  I do remember when I could see the leaders doubling back I wanted to try to see Hollie, but no such luck.  I was getting hot, but I wanted to make to the halfway point before I adjusted my clothing.  After I hit the 5k mark, I had to stop on the side of the road and strip down.  I took off my top layer, got rid of the long sleeves, then put the top layer back on. I loved my long sleeved shirt too much to part with it, so I tied it around my waist.

I don’t remember the back half of the race much, but I remember that I walked.  A lot.  The last half mile or so is torture because you can see the finish line forever.  I finished in 1:21:28.

The good thing is that the after party made me forget about my poor performance.  J&A throws a good party – and the swag for this race was pretty exceptional too.  I’m really excited about this race for 2014 – I’d really like to redeem myself!

wicked

Yummy Blue Moon!

How do you feel about 10ks? Love them or hate them?  Have you ever done a Halloween race?

8 thoughts on “Back in Time: 2013 Wicked 10K

  1. Wow this race seems so long ago seriously! I remember seeing the leaders and female leaders and I was so toast. I want to try and do this race again if it works and I can make it back (and not too close to my marathon).

  2. Haha, I can’t imagine running 10K carrying a canoe. Even less so looking like duck dynasty with all the beards. Those must be very difficult to wear, you must sweat a lot in them. It doesn’t matter that you walked, what matters is that you finished the race eventually. Great job!

  3. That is such a cool medal! I LOVE 10Ks. They are one of my favorite distances. What I do not love is a race where you can see the finish line forever. That happened to me in a race recently. I felt like it was getting farther away as I was running toward it!

    • I know, right! I love the medal from this race. I think I could like 10Ks, I’ve only done one, so I can’t really make a good assessment. Aren’t those finishes the WORST? I feel you on that one!

Leave a Reply

