Weekly Update – 5/5

Monday

I know I say it every week, but I’m really loving yoga class.  I’m trying to find another class to fit into my schedule.  I’m realizing just how tight I am, especially my hamstrings.  I wish I had more hours in a day to fit yoga in every day.

Tuesday 

Danny night.  I got all excited when he told me we’d be working out in the outside workout space….But I grew very unhappy when he told me what we were doing out there!

Did my normal warm-up of hamstring walks, squats, walking lunges, wall sits, and yoga push-ups.

We did 2 rounds of the following:

1. 1:3o min of rope slams (3 different types)

2. 30 one arm kettlebell swings (each side)

3. 15 kneeling kettlebell bottom-up press (each side)

4. Stair runs: up and back with 10lbs overhead, up and back 5 lbs overhead

5. Sled pushes (25 yds each way): Slow steady pushes down, sprinting back

I.hate.sled.pushes.

Also, funny conversation of the day. For some reason, he thought a 5k was 2 miles (but didn’t tell me that’s what he thought) and told me that he thought I could run a 5k in 18 minutes.

Facepalm.

I also came home and mowed the grass.  May not sound so hard to you, but I have one of those old fashioned reel mowers.  It was a second workout!

Wednesday

Rest day, aka lazy day.

Thursday

Danny night.  Not too terrible taxing, but I definitely felt it the next day.

Warmup (3x):

1. Shoulders (15)

2. Resistance Bands side step squats (:30 sec)

Workout (4x):

1. Step back lunges with 20 lbs (15 each side)

2. Single arm 10 lb dumbbell cleans (15 each side)

3. Single leg Hamstring curls – 15 lbs (15 each side)

Friday 

Rest day!

Saturday

Workout with Danny in the AM.  Danny couldn’t make it this week, so I trained with his colleague, Jeremy.  Jeremy is HARD.

1. Ran 2 minutes (5 mph), 10 cleans, 10 single leg dead-lifts, 10 squats, 10 back rows (all done with 10 lb dumbbells)

2. Ran 2 minutes (5 mph), 10 cleans, 10 single leg dead-lifts, 10 squats, 10 back rows (all done with 10 lb dumbbells)

3. Ran 2 minutes (5 mph)

4. Failed out on chin ups.  I have no upper body strength when it comes to lifting myself.  I very rarely like to fail out on stuff, but I didn’t want to hurt myself.

5. The following x2: Hamstring curls in bridge position on the mat with feet on sliders (10), single arm back rows (10 each side)

6. The following x3: 10 back rows on a machine, 10 hamstring curls

Michael and I went to Fresh Market up in Newport News.  We got caught in a hailstorm on the way back.  Let me tell you what, they are scary to drive in! We watched a movie on Netflix (Best Man Down – super sappy), then went to my mom’s house for dinner.

Sunday

Church in the AM. We went to Elizabeth City to see Michael’s mom for Mother’s Day.  We grilled out; had steaks, corn and pasta salad.  Michael and I went for a walk around his neighborhood down to the river.  I only had flip flops with me.  I got a horrible blister on the ball of my foot.  Boo.  Otherwise, it was a great day with great weather!

Mother's day

At his parent’s house!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Update – 5/5

Leave a Reply

