Back in Time: 2013 Color Runs

Color Me Rad  Newport News 2013

 I had seen the ads, I knew I was going to get “dirty.”  I did not know, however, that they sprayed cold colored water at you and that no matter how many times you scrub your face, you will still have blue dye on it.

All the complaining aside, it was a really fun race.  My college roommate and I did it together.  We walked over from her apartment and got prepared to get gross.  We ended up wearing a lot of layers because it was so cold out!

I didn’t really feel like running, but Erin did.  We got pretty covered.  The best part though, was the color bomb party at the finish line.  They did one about every 5-10 minutes.  The air was so thick with the dye, you couldn’t see anything.

photo 2 (3)

Me after Color Me Rad

photo 1 (2)

Erin after Color Me Rad

photo 3 (2)

Close-up of my blue face!

I wish you could have seen what the bottom of her shower looked like afterward.  Wow.

I may have gone shopping for bridesmaids dresses with a bunch of blue dye still on my face 🙂

I didn’t do this race this year, but I wouldn’t be opposed to doing it again if someone asked me to do it with them.

Color Vibe  Chesapeake 2013

Color Vibe 2013 goes down in history as hands down, the worst organized race I’ve ever seen.

It was held at Greenbrier Farms…I know that should have been a clue, but I didn’t know it was a trail race.  It was in July – that should have been another red flag.  Not only was it in July, but it was on a Saturday in July – which for anyone who knows Hampton Roads, you know that you don’t drive down 168 on a Saturday in the summer.  All the traffic going to Nags Head will make your day miserable.

The first issue was that you literally had to park miles away from the race start.  Then, once you got to the start, there was just chaos every where.  The positive is that the energy was super upbeat and the pre-race entertainment was great.

The first corral went off…and due to lack of clear directions, got lost.  It took over 20 minutes for our corral to start.  Once we started, we wanted to stop.  It was ridiculously hot.  We walked slowly when we got in the shade.  I don’t know how many ambulances came for people who passed out because of the heat.  We had to ration our water because they ran out of water at the finish.

Once we finally did finish, we had a hot 20 minute walk back to the car -which was really hard to find because everyone was parked in a giant field.  There was an accident on 168 and so people we just pulling in when we were leaving the race.  I don’t know why I’m smiling in the pictures below.  I think I was delirious.

This race is the reason why I have a disdain for summer races, I don’t like Greenbrier Farms, and I no longer desire to do color runs!

This will not be on my to-do list again.

photo 2 (4)

Me and Grace after Color Vibe

photo 1 (3)

Me and Patty after Color Vibe

2 thoughts on “Back in Time: 2013 Color Runs

Leave a Reply

