Back in Time: 2013 Shamrock 8k

I was super excited about this race.  My company sponsors it, my brother was running it with me, and I had trained hard for this one.

I had won a VIP parking pass, but knowing the threat of ridiculous traffic, we left super early.  Boy, is that child hard to get up in the morning! (He’s only 2 years younger than me)  We ate our pre-race granola bars in the car because it was so cold outside.  Once the sun started coming up, we ventured out for porta potty breaks and to get in our corral.  He told me he was going to stick with me, but I knew better.

He left me by the end of mile 1.

I welcomed being alone; it meant I didn’t have to weave in and out of people to catch up to him.  The weather was good, not too warm or cold and the breeze wasn’t bad.  I never really felt like this race was much of a struggle – the training paid off.  There were only a few times that I wanted to walk.

Once I realized my pace was better than I expected, I thought I might be able to get sub 55 min.  No such luck.  I ended up coming in at 56:01.  That beat my last PR by 2 minutes.

I went to find my brother…he was already drinking beer.  He kept telling me that his foot hurt.  He had already taken off his shoes.  We drank and ate to our hearts content when we decided to go home.  We had to wait for the rain to stop too, because there was a torrential downpour a few minutes after we got in the tent!  Due to his lack of shoes, he cut his foot on the porta potty (EWWWWWWW!!!).

We went to the medical tent to get him cleaned up and then were on our way home.  I live about 45 minutes from VA Beach and we stopped twice on the way home for the bathroom.  He had too much beer!

Fast forward about a week….his foot was still hurting him.  He went to the doctor only to find out that he had a fractured 5th metatarsal.  I guess wearing new shoes to a race was a bad idea after all.  Just like his big sister told him.

Injury aside, it was a great race 🙂

2 thoughts on “Back in Time: 2013 Shamrock 8k

    • Yeah – he’s a crazy man. Ended up in a boot cause he didn’t listen to his sister 🙂 Yeah – we literally stopped less than a mile from my house cause he couldn’t make it home!

Leave a Reply

