Training and Planning a Wedding

RunningBride

I don’t know about you, but the idea of wedding planning while training (and working full time) terrifies me!  I know people have juggled many more things that that, but for me it seems a tad overwhelming.

We are meeting with our favorite venue this week and I hope to be able to make a decision on that and check that off the list.  Once we do that, I can lock in my photographer and I’ll have the two major things that are important to me.  I know you are thinking, “Wow, that was fast, she just got engaged!” Yup, its fast.  BUT – weddings for Spring 2015 are booking up fast and I want to get those things locked in!

I will be doing the Crawlin Crab half in October and Shamrock again next March.  I have a feeling that there will be a lot of wedding stuff going on during Shamrock training.  Here’s to hoping I can train and plan (and work full time) all at the same time 🙂

So I know I usually blog about running and training, but I’ll probably talk a lot about wedding stuff on here – because hey; its part of my journey!

Did you train for an event while planning a wedding? How do you manage to balance life and training?

 

10 thoughts on “Training and Planning a Wedding

  1. Yaaay, I love wedding planning!!! I was swimming lots of meets in 2010 when I was planning my wedding! It was definitely stressful at times, but it is totally manageable!!! My sister got me a wedding planner (book) and it really helped my organization! You should designate time to planning and time to training. You can do it!!! This is an exciting time of your life!! Embrace it and LOVE IT!!! 🙂 XOXO!!!

  2. I think you’ll do fine! If you know you have a lot of stuff coming up, I strongly suggest a planner. We actually had a destination wedding, but our wedding planner there did absolutely everything for us and I barely had to lift a finger. It was AMAZING.

  3. I didn’t really plan much of mine. My mother in law did most of it, but yeah… I did train and run when planning it. However, my wedding was super small (like 40 guests), the reception was at our house, etc. I think if I had a very large wedding to plan, I would be pretty consumed and would most likely be running and working out some, but would put goals of training to PR or run a long event like a marathon aside. I think training for a half when wedding planning would be okay- training for a half marathon is a LOT more manageable with your schedule and doesn’t take up as much time as full training. Also, the workouts give you a nice little relief from wedding planning… a good way to relieve stress of it :).

    • I’d love to have a small wedding, but we just have too much family…and I want them all to be there 🙂 I’m hoping that they will give me some stress relief. Also, I think about how much I juggled in high school and college, and I always did better when I had a lot going on. I was more focused!

  4. I didn’t realize how fast wedding venues are filling up. Actually the place I wanted called and said they weren’t available that time! How crazy. It overwhelms me too. UGH but I feel like after an actual venue is found it won’t be as bad.

Leave a Reply

