Florida Pt.1

As promised – stories from my Florida vacation!

We flew out on Saturday, March 29.  It was a nasty, rainy day when we flew out of Norfolk.  Our flight was supposed to depart at 11:15AM, so like good flyers, we arrived a bit before 9AM.  We parked the car in long term parking, checked our bags and got through security by 9AM.

Ready to go on vacation!

Ready to go on vacation!

I decided not to get any coffee because I would have to use the bathroom on the flight…and that did not sound appealing to me (even though the flight to Orlando was less than 2 hours).

What Michael and I didn’t know is that there was really bad weather in Orlando – thunderstorm and tornado watches/warnings.  They delayed our flight till 12, 1, 2, 3….then finally we took off at about 3:45pm. In the midst of one of those breaks, we decided that we needed Starbucks – these were the resulting pictures:

Very unhappy face

Very unhappy face

Yay Starbucks! Boo, delay!

Yay Starbucks! Boo, delay!

When we finally arrived, we had to get our baggage (which took forever) and get our rental car.  Then we had to drive about an hour to Leesburg.  I was NOT a happy camper, I was hangry.  I think it was about 8pm before we got there!

We stayed with his Aunt and Uncle (his dad’s twin brother).  They made us some fantastic tilapia, potatoes (red and sweet) and some vegetable I cannot recall at the moment.

We woke up the next morning  (Sunday) and had coffee and breakfast.  They make smoothies with their Vitamix every day.  They use chocolate protein powder and mix in strawberries, pears, apples, pineapples, blueberries and bananas.  It was SO GOOD.

They didn't know my affinity for owls when they gave my coffee to me!

They didn’t know my affinity for owls when they gave my coffee to me!

We then drove about 45 minutes to a nearby town called Mount Dora.  It was a quaint little downtown area where we had lunch on a balcony and walked around for a bit.

Overlooking Mount Dora!

Overlooking Mount Dora!

We also went to a swap meet/farmer’s market type place that was actually really neat.  I was enjoying myself too much to snap any pictures there.

We went back to Leesburg and I promptly laid down for a nap.  I was so tired from our travels the day before.  I woke up and we had drinks and snacks out on the screen porch.  We had a wonderful dinner of crockpot lasagna. Yum!

Mmm Corona :)

Mmm Corona 🙂

We woke up the next morning (Monday) and were headed to Ft. Lauderdale. Had our fruit smoothies and some coffee and got on the road. We stopped at Panera for lunch.  It truly felt like the start of our vacation since we finally got to be alone!

IMG_1825 IMG_1826

We had dinner with his aunt (his mother’s sister), cousin and her kids.  She made some wonderful, delicious food! We left there and headed to our hotel by the water.

Family!

Family!

We spent the next day (Tuesday) walking around, eating, shopping, and going to the pool.  I could have spent a ton of time in Ft. Lauderdale.  It was a beautiful beach and there was a ton to do! It was a good place to walk around and just enjoy the weather.

Cheese and bacon omelet on panini.  I'm not even going to pretend it was healthy!

Cheese and bacon omelet on panini. I’m not even going to pretend it was healthy!

:)

🙂

Our beautiful hotel

Our beautiful hotel

The bridge over from the hotel to the beach

The bridge over from the hotel to the beach

Ft. Lauderdale Beach

Ft. Lauderdale Beach

Watching some parasailers

Watching some parasailers

The water was so clear and warm

The water was so clear and warm

Fish and broccoli

Fish and broccoli

Yummy Chicken Caesar Wrap!

Yummy Chicken Caesar Wrap!

View from the room!

View from the room!

Beautiful!

Beautiful!

Ridiculous boat in the rich area of town

Ridiculous boat in the rich area of town

On Wednesday, we got up early because we were heading to KEY WEST!  I had another omelet panini (hey, don’t judge) and we began the 4 1/2 hour trek to Key West where we would spend the next 4 days.  That’s a story for another post 🙂

10 thoughts on “Florida Pt.1

  1. Looks like you had a great time even though the flight was delayed! I love smoothies but don’t drink them in the morning really, mostly post-workout. I couldn’t handle dairy and fruit that early, yikes. That’s sweet of them to let you stay for awhile too on your way to FTL and the Keys. Can’t wait to see more.

  2. Looks like fun! We are headed to Florida in one month and I.cannot. wait!! And the omelette panini sounds like a brilliant idea. Can’t believe I’ve never thought to whip out the panini press for breakfast! Oh and that boat is ridic. So jealous of that guy!

    • Oh yay! Where in Florida? And yes, panini for breakfast is a brilliant idea! Grilled cheese with bacon on a panini is yummy for breakfast. That boat was beyond crazy…but you should have seen the $10 million house that accompanied it!

  3. Pingback: Florida Pt. 2 | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

