FMS Score

FMS

FMS

As part of my “reset” and refocusing on my fitness goals, my trainer assessed me based on the Functional Movement Systems (FMS) program.  For those who are interested, check out their website, its pretty interesting.  He is actually certified to do these assessments.

In their words:

“Put simply, the FMS is a ranking and grading system that documents movement patterns that are key to normal function. By screening these patterns, the FMS readily identifies functional limitations and asymmetries. These are issues that can reduce the effects of functional training and physical conditioning and distort body awareness.

The FMS generates the Functional Movement Screen Score, which is used to target problems and track progress. This scoring system is directly linked to the most beneficial corrective exercises to restore mechanically sound movement patterns.

Exercise professionals monitor the FMS score to track progress and to identify those exercises that will be most effective to restore proper movement and build strength in each individual.”

Basically – for each exercise/activity on the assessment, you can get a score of 1,2 or 3.  A three is the best you can get; meaning you performed the activity correctly and optimally.  A two means that you are proficient, but work is needed on technique.  A one means you need correction in that area.  If an exercise is done bilaterally, and one side is stronger than the other, you receive the lower of the 2 scores.  For example, on lunges, I got a 3 on the left leg, but a 2 on the right.  Since I am not symmetrical, I get the 2 for my score.  (My abysmal hip flexors are to blame for most of my bad scores!)

You can get a possible 21 points for a perfect score.  I received a score of 14.

I’m pretty proud of myself.  If I had a bit more symmetry, I would have received an 18!

In case you are interested, here is my scoring:

FMS Results

FMS Results

**Look who got a THREE on her deep squat! WOO HOO!**

This will allow us to see the things we need to maintain, the things we need to strengthen, and where my form needs correcting.  I’m excited to see what we can accomplish with the assistance from this assessment system.

Have you heard of FMS before?  What tools do you use to measure your progress?

6 thoughts on “FMS Score

  1. Great post! I learned about the FMS 3 years ago and have developed a passion for it (learning about the body everyday). Their concept of reset, reinforce, and reload sequence is one of the best things I have learned :). Also, Gray Cook s favorite life changing quote is: “a habit created that pattern so you’ll need a habit to break that pattern.”
    Jackie

  2. Sounds like a good idea, this could help identify muscle groups you need to work on. I wouldn’t have scored as well as you did, I am horrible at straight leg raises.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Update – 8/18 | coolrunningsjourney

  4. Pingback: FMS Score Round 2: Improvement! | coolrunningsjourney

Leave a Reply

