Weekly Update + a FUN weekend!

This week was a week to be lazy and not feel bad about it at all.  How nice is that!?

Monday

The day after my first half marathon.  If I’m being completely honest, on Sunday night I thought I wouldn’t be able to walk on Monday.  My knees felt like someone had taken a baseball bat to them…and there were tons of other aches and pains!

I woke up on Monday and was pleasantly surprised my knees felt much better! My right hip was bothering me (has been a struggle with that hip the past few months) and my left Achilles was very angry with me.  I pretty much waddled around at work all day.  I was also surprised at how much my back hurt.

Monday was a complete rest day for me.  I came home and sat on my butt.

Tuesday

I felt significantly better! Tuesday was a Danny night.  He knew I was pretty sore so he had an easy stretch/recovery session planned.

After a foam roll progression, we did two sets of the following:

Hamstring walk

Walk and squat

Lunges

Wednesday

Rest Day!

Thursday

Danny night.  I went through my foam roll progression, then jumped on the elliptical for a quick half mile before working out with Danny. He has this new favorite piece of equipment that I had to google to figure out what it is.  Its called a Fitball Seating Disc.  Its a great tool to help with balance and developing those stability muscles.  We did a variety of exercises using this as a support for either my hands or my feet.

Balance Disc

Friday

Another rest day, and I didn’t feel the least bit guilty.  Friday was 6 months with the boyfriend.  He got me some beautiful flowers and a sweet card.  I am so blessed with such a sweet man.

Pretty roses!

Pretty roses!

We went out to celebrate at a nice seafood place in Rudee Inlet, called Rockefellers.

6 mo 1 (4)

Barbecue chicken smothered in cheese and bacon with red potatoes and steamed veggies. Yum!

6 mo 3

Fried flounder with red potatoes and steamed veggies.

We know we are obnoxiously in love and we don't care! :)

We know we are obnoxiously in love and we don’t care! 🙂

We came after dinner and went for a walk.  It was so beautiful out and we were so full, so a walk seemed to be in order 🙂 Just the recipe to make me nice and sleepy!

Saturday

Since I’ve been in serious training mode for the last few weeks, we haven’t gotten an opportunity to see our parents much.  Michael’s parents live in Elizabeth City, so we went down there to have lunch with them.  His mom said she had made a special dessert but wouldn’t tell me what.  She had this cake made to celebrate my accomplishments at Shamrock.  His parents are the absolute sweetest.

Shamrock themed cake!

Shamrock themed cake!

I haven’t seen my mom and stepdad much, so we had dinner with them.  The weather was amazing, so we got an opportunity to sit out on the deck and eat lots of food and drink a nice cold beer!

Sunday

Church in the morning – I only missed a week, but it feels like forever! We went out with my Dad and stepmom (who I ran Shamrock with) for a lovely night on the town to see comedian Gabriel Iglesias. He was testing out some new material – so it was nice and refreshing.  I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time!  For those of you who haven’t seen him, youtube him.  His tagline is “I’m not fat, I’m fluffy!” I’m happy to report that last night he talked a lot about how he’s dropped over 100 pounds in a quest to be healthier (he found out he had type 2 Diabetes).  He said if he stops being “fluffy” because he’s so buff, we can just call him “buffy.”  He rounded out the night with some older material which the audience promptly recited along with him.  Good times 🙂

Dad and Patty.  Notice me photobombing?

Dad and Patty. Notice me photobombing?

Us being obnoxious.

Dad thought we were silly for taking selfies.  So he wanted in on the action.

Dad thought we were silly for taking selfies, so he thought he’d join in on the fun!

All in all, a pretty great relaxing week!  This week should be relatively uneventful, then I leave for nice, warm Florida on Saturday 🙂 Did you do anything fun this weekend? What are you looking forward to?

12 thoughts on “Weekly Update + a FUN weekend!

  1. Awe it sounds like a great week. I’m glad you were able to enjoy your well deserved rest. It looks solid. For me, I struggled because I ended up needing more rest at the end of the week despite wanting to train more. LOL.

  2. Eh’ your a half marathoner now Lauren you can take off however much time you want 🙂 and sorry I didn’t give you the memo about the post half marathon back soreness. I can get you, especially the lower back but with some core strengthening you won’t notice it as much the next time. What part of Florida are you heading to??

    • HA! No rest for the weary, 6 months until the next one 😉 Yeah – I didn’t realize how sore my back would be – never really had that with my long runs. I do have scoliosis which makes core work challenging – but that is no excuse, I need to do more.

      I will be all over: around/in Orlando, Fort Lauderdale, and Key West. 10 day vacation with the boyfriend – we will visit family while we are down there too.

Leave a Reply

