Creating a Race Schedule

I’m fairly new to running.  I ran my first road race in November of 2012.  I ran two races that year; a 5k and an 8k.  In 2013, I had a pretty good schedule, I ran a total of 10 races.  Two of them were color runs, so I don’t know that I really want to count those.  They are fun, but no preparation went into them 🙂  If you are interested in what I’ve done, check out my Race Schedule page.

Spring Races:

I didn’t do any races in January-early March, because all I could think about was getting through Shamrock. Now I can think about trying to fit some others in (10k or shorter).  I’m thinking about doing the Run for the Dream 8k in late May. I will most likely sign up for that one.

Summer Races:

I don’t like running in the heat. I may try to find some, but not sure yet.

Fall Races:

My next goal race is the Crawlin Crab half marathon in early October.  I’ll also be doing the 5k the day before because I haven’t learned my lesson about back to back races yet.  And because I like race bling- its a horrible addiction.

I have signed up Wicked 10k in late October, but other than that, I have no other planned races.

I’m looking for some other great local fall races.  I usually do a small 5k in November at my alma mater (it was my first 5k that I ever did!)

I’ve also done an 8k through ChristmasTown at Busch Gardens Williamsburg every year (put on by Flat Out Events).  However, this year, I’m contemplating the Surfin Santa 10 Miler put on by J&A Racing.  They fall on the same weekend.  I’m very torn.  I really enjoy ChristmasTown, but would love the challenge of a 10 miler (and I love J&A!). I have a big decision ahead of me!

How do you formulate your race schedule? How do you decide between two races?

10 thoughts on “Creating a Race Schedule

  1. I love it!!!! I love that I’ve heard of all of the races, too!! Hehe! 😉
    I’m doing Crawlin’ Crab half marathon, too! I’m signing up really soon! I’m also running 5k by the bay the beginning of May and another 5k sometime during summer. I also have a couple aquathlons in va beach this summer!!!
    If you’re up for running in the heat, you should run the Allen Stone 5k in Virginia beach mid July!!! I do the run-swim-run but they’re the same day around the same time! It’s an inspirational/beautiful race put on by the Navy Seals! You should really check it out!!
    Also, I’d go for the Surfin Santa 10 Miler!! I heard it’s great!!!

    • Haha – I love hearing about everyone’s races, but I love local racers; its nice to be familiar with the races! Good – glad to hear you are doing Crawlin Crab! I’ll think about Allen Stone 5k. July is HOT.
      Thanks for the advice about Surfin Santa. I still am going to think about it some more – but I’m leaning more and more in that direction. I like Saturday races too. Gives me all weekend to recover 🙂

      • Yep, that’s true (with having all weekend to recover)! July is definitely hot!! Doing the run/swim/run isn’t as bad because the second run you are wet from the ocean, but yeah, the 5k would probably be a little hot! 🙂

  2. Sounds like you are putting together a nice schedule Lauren!! Over the last 2 years I’ve really not raced much myself either only doing only about 3 races over that period of time. My whole focus was on tackling the marathon distance so racing got put on the back burner due to expense and I missed it dearly. I’m getting back to racing more this coming fall at shorter distances. So really my race schedule is based on the distances I’m tackling. Shorter distances I race more (4-6 times) but if I’m doing longer distances I race less during the season (1-3 times). And uusally the deciding factor for me in races are what the proceeds go to and how much of a percentage of the proceeds go to the actual cause. Case and point, 26.2 with Donna aka The National Breast Cancer Marathon here in Jacksonville, FL do a 5K, Halkf Mary, and 26.2 distance and 100% of the proceeds go to cancer research and prevention so a race like that I would run every year even if it conflicted with another race because how the money is spent and the crowd support is top-notch all the way down to the life-sized Gumby hahaha lol 😛

  3. Sounds like you’ve got a great running season ahead of you! I’m totally with you on the running in the heat thing, but when there’s good race bling up for grabs that might be hard to resist. 😉

  4. Follow your gut! I did my first 10 mile race about two years ago and loved it. Mainly because there wasn’t a pesky .1 or .2 at the end, but also because it was a good distance – still double digit miles, but shorter than a half marathon. It was fun!

  5. You know my general feelings about most races. I actually don’t mind races in the summer as long as there short. What I generally like to do in the summer is race a lot of shorter 5ks and work a bit more on speed (versus half marathons and longer races). I honestly think you should get the surf and santa a shot…just to try something new too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

