Foam Rolling

Foam rolling is my favorite (and least favorite) thing in the entire world.   I never used to foam roll until I started working with my trainer Danny.  After I started complaining whining about all my muscle soreness, he decided it was time to introduce me to foam rolling.

He led me through a progression that I do before every run or intense workout session that heavily involves legs.  I usually do this progression after working out as well.

We do this progression for each side: calf, hamstring, piriformis, IT band, lower back, upper back.

foam_rolling

It has worked wonders for me.  I don’t make habit of rolling my quads, hip abductors, hip flexors, etc, but I need to start incorporating that into my progression. I will likely start incorporating all of the below exercises.

foam-roller2

Do you foam roll? What is your favorite and least favorite muscle to roll?

7 thoughts on “Foam Rolling

  1. After all these years of distance running would believe I just started foam rolling this past year. It has made a world of difference but I’m not going to lie I hate rolling my quads with a passion!!! Man it hurts lol

Leave a Reply

