The Journey begins…

Hey reader (s)!

I’ve been wanting to start a blog for some time.  Its been marinating in my head.  I’ve thought of all the reasons I shouldn’t: I don’t have time, I’ll lose steam in a month, no one wants to read my thoughts…and on and on.

But the real reason I’m doing this: for me.

I want to document my journey to health, my journey in running, my journey in life.  It is so wonderful to go back and see how far you’ve come – and to record my thoughts that accompany those accomplishments will help me relive the process.

The title of my blog is “Cool Runnings Journey.” Mostly because “Cool Runnings” was already taken.  For those of you who live under a rock (I mean who hasn’t seen the story of the Jamaican bobsled team!?), Cool Runnings is a movie about Jamaican runners who don’t qualify for the Olympics in running, so they form a bobsled team.  They name their bobsled “Cool Runnings” because it means “peace be the journey.”  I wanted a name that reflected that this is a journey, a process, and the end goal is not what defines success; what you learn along the way does.

My journey to health and happiness may not always be one of peace, but I hope it is, and I hope to learn from it when its not.

I hope you’ll join me on my journey!

Have you seen the movie, Cool Runnings?

What are you on a journey toward?

2 thoughts on “The Journey begins…

  1. Yes I’ve seen Cool Runnings … and yes I LOVE the movie. Part of my journey as a runner is complete and that was to become a marathoner. However, where one journey ends another begins and my current journey/quest is to try and go sub-20 minutes in the 5K by 2016

Leave a Reply

